Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe. I didn't have any parsley or Old Bay on hand so substituted 1 tsp south India fish curry powder. Didn't have any clam juice and substituted can of chopped octopus including the oil. Substitute use of Taiwanese dried mushrooms and added garlic, 4 oz canned corn including the water. Added 1/4 cup cooking wine. Did not use any flour. The base recipe provided the guide. It came out excellent based on comments from six people served and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Can't give it 5 stars as I altered the recipe somewhat. I cut the recipe in half as there are only two of us. Used all chicken stock and no clam juice. Added 1/2 can of creamed corn and 1/2 can of evap. milk plus a handful of shredded cheddar. I also fried up the bacon and sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat and put the crumbled bacon on top. Very good will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
delicious! I added carrots and a little bacon. I didn't have Old Bay, so I used Cajun spice, and added a good amount of cayenne pepper. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Very good, needs a little tweaking, next time add more seasoning and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I use haddock instead of cod and 1 teaspoon of Old Bay for more flavor. My family loves this recipe, including my 4 year old and it reminds us all of the East Coast creamy chowdahs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was a joy as I am NOT a chowder fan! A few alterations: omitted the clam juice, used leftover grilled red snapper (that I mistakingly over salted), full carton of mushrooms in chunks, added half water with the 1/2 and 1/2 milk and added coconut oil with the sauté. It was lovely and my four year old son loved it as well. The second time I did the same as above and used 2% milk and salted fish (that I typical use with Ackee) and it was still a hit at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We love this recipe. I used Mahi Mahi it's what I had and it turned out great. Not too fishy either my kids LoVed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very good - but since I'm in New England it had to be haddock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Most excellent basic recipe but need tweaks on the spices. I had no idea what Old Bay is but someone made a suggestion if what's in it and I used that. (Celery seed, mustard seed, paprika, ground fresh pepper,cardamon, mace, bay leaf) worked for me! Hearty and full of good taste. Any kind of fish or seafood would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States