Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is a great chowder. I followed the recipe and used cod, bay scallops, and shrimp and almost a tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. The result was very rich, creamy and delicious and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
A good way to use leftover cooked fish. But this definitely needs more spices. I had fresh parsley on hand and a few shakes of Lawry's season salt. And I only added 1 can of milk. Why does it have to be evaporated, can't regular milk do the trick? My kids only ate one ladle full each. So my husband has 4 tupperwares for lunchtime leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious and easy for beginner cooks like me. :) Used haddock and homogenized milk, but no clam juice, mushrooms or Old Bay. Seasoned with epicure crab dip seasoning and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
this is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Seriously good chowder. Although I limit my food intake to veggies and fish/seafood, I am not one who generally appreciates corn or other random veggies in a chowder so I tried this recipe the minute I realized it didn't have all of that. I only used one can of evaporated milk and added a splash of red wine vinegar to the end of the cooking process. Everything else was exactly as written. Thanks for posting this and an even bigger thanks to those fisherman who shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!! I am really trying to eat a little better---and it is hard to believe that this is a low fat chowder! I brought this over for my family and they all loved it---there were no leftovers!! I used one can of fat free evaporated milk and one can of regular just to see what it would taste like and it was still wonderful!! Thank you so much for the recipe....I will be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My version kind of had everything but the kitchen sink in it... couldn't get enough fresh Cod so I added clams, scallops, shrimp and a few other goodies we had at the house also added a can of corn... 7 yo ate it with no complaints, hubby and I both enjoyed it a lot but ended up with WAY more than what I would call the 8 servings as we had 5 bowls amongst us the first night and had to package and freeze leftovers enough to have it 2 more dinners! Definitely halving the recipe next time!!! Also adding more spices next time around... just a little bland for us but a great base to play with and make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family enjoyed this chowder. I did make a few adjustments by adding more mushrooms and celery. I also added 1 cup of corn. I did not add the clam juice (did not have). I also increased the Old Bay to 3/4 teaspoon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I followed others recommendations and this was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, I only used chicken broth (I didn´t have any clam juice) and it still came out great. The only change I made was I sauted the fish in olive oil seasoned with garlic powder, black pepper and salt and then incorporated it to the the broth and mushrooms mixture. Will be doing it again and very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanireth

Displaying results 131-140 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States