Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good. It just didn't get as thick as I was hoping. That may be an error on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is really good! I like more veggies so I added a bag of frozen peas, carrots, corn, & green beans. It adds a bit more flavor & color. I used 1 lb of mahi mahi and a 1 lb bag of frozen mixed seafood (shrimp, calamari, and scallops). I used about 1.5 tsp. of Old Bay and lots of black pepper. Also, 1 can of fat free evaporated milk was plenty for me! This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Just made this tonight for dinner. MMMM I used a pound of mushrooms (which next time I'll saute first). I also put much more Old Bay than called for. Love this recipe!! I'm gonna play with it adding other items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This didn't do it for me. It was VERY bland as written. I ended up using about a Tsp. of Old Bay, 1 Tsp. lemon pepper seasoning, 1 Tsp. salt, dash of smokey paprika, dash of red pepper. Still thought it was a bit fishy, used Tilipia, which shouldn't have been fishy, and not much flavor. Won't make again and shows we all have different tastes. Husband said it was good but only had 1 bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very Good. I added a little more Old Bay than it asked for. Next time I will also add another stock of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this is so wonderfully good! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the handful of shrimp I threw in at the end. I served my chowder with shredded sharp cheese and sprinkling of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Just made this the other night with chopped up tilapia and shrimp. Awesome. Use a lot of Old Bay Seasoning. What the recipe calls for, is just not enough. Serve with some french bread. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsworthen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Super! I cooked some bacon in the stock pot first (omitting the butter of course) and then cooked the onions and celery (added garlic) in the bacon fat - mmmm!. Substituted tilapia for the cod and used gluten free rice flour instead of the all purpose flour to make it a gluten free chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! Hubby is usually skeptical when i try a new recipe but this one he voted a real keeper. I used better than broth clam base and sea bass we caught out on the charter over the summer. used 2lbs fish and 1lb chopped shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Five star recipe!!!! Tastes just like Campbell's clam chowder and restaurant clam chowder. I LOVE IT. Have made this several times, and each time it's fantastic. We don't get celery where I'm living, so I substitute chopped green bell pepper instead, and it adds a nice extra 'bite.' To lower the calorie content just a bit, I will usually cut down or eliminate the flour.... which of course takes away some of the thickness of the soup, but we all have to make sacrifices, right? :-) No clam juice readily available here, so I usually just use the fish juice from the thawing frozen fish or substitute the juice from a can of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMEIST99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States