Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have been on this site for years and have never rated anything. This soup is so good and so easy that I felt like I literally had to comment. I only had 1 lb of some random white fish in the freezer and only 1 can of evaporated milk, so I was short 1 can of milk and 1 lb of fish. I added an extra cup of chicken stock to compensate. I did add in 3 cubed potatoes and a can of corn for some texture. Even missing some stuff, this chowder turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
we loved it! thank you for the recipe. made it per the recipe just added a splash of white wine to the saute and a couple carrots for color. oh and just for our preference we like chowders spicier (added cayenne) and on the thick side so i added a few instant potato flakes at the end to quick thicken it which was great but i think it did change the texture from what was intended, we were hungry though no time to flour thicken again. flavor was wonderful and delicate, we topped with a few french fried onions and paired with an alton brown recipe for creamed corn corn bread with a drizzle of maple syrup. yum went nicely with the spicy chowder. one thing maybe someone can tell me, but my fish sort of disappeared texture wise. i followed the recipe and i didn't have any chunks of fish. it was still really great, maybe that's how it's suppose to be. maybe i needed thicker fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a GREAT recipe! I will definitely make it again and again. I did add more seasoning than what was called for based on other reviewers. Tured out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good! We used a bit of extra Old Bay seasoning and added an extra tablespoon of butter at the end, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
this recipe was quick and easy and delicious. The only thing i changed was adding more flour for thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Am eating my first bowl of this right now. Made it exactly as stated. Quite delicious, will make again. You have to kind of hover around the stove so that you don't overcook either the potatoes or the fish but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. My mom had made a fish soup from memory and well... we all know how memory goes...lol. I used this recipe to fix it and we all had a wonderful dinner.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My husband is a man of few words, but upon eating this dish he told me I had knocked dinner right outta the park. We agreed to try it next time with just 1 can of evapo milk first. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The only changes I made were to add a lot more mushrooms. I halved the recipe for just my husband and me. It was only okay the first meal but tasted much better when we had it the second night (even halved it makes a lot). If I make it again I will use less flour as it was a little too thick and slightly "flourie"tasting which I didn't notice the second time around. Next time I will add clams and maybe some shrimp too. It needs a little more spice, but I don't know what that would be...pepper? garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good but there is something missing. Thought it needed more flavor but over all good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States