Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Quite good! not as creamy (aka healthier) as using half & half, but to each his own. I followed some of the other users' suggestions: increased the Old Bay Seasoning, added corn and carrots, as well as clams & scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I cut the recipe in half as I only had a pound of cod to work with. And I started out by making a roux by mistake as that is how I am used to making chowder. Anyway, that helped with other reviewers issues with an uncooked flour taste. I liked this recipe for it's ease...I did feel it was missing a vegetable...carrots or peas, perhaps? I'll experiment until I find the right one. But all in all a good recipe, thanks AMYTHE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We loved, loved, loved this fish chowder. We made it with striped bass caught fresh and frozen just under two weeks. We added lots more Old Bay (husband is a Marylander)and pondered making a roux with bacon grease but opted to keep this simple - didn't want to be cooking all night. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Used same ingredients in crock pot to make use of some leftover baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As written this recipe is 3.5-4 stars. It is a good base. However, AS IS the recipe is bland and a little "off". Once I doctored it, it was 5 stars. I noticed many (if not most) people rating with 5 stars made changes. How can you give a recipe 5 stars if you have to change it? That means the original recipe isn't a 5 star recipe...the one YOU created with changes is! *ahem, okay stepping down from soap box* LOL Anyway, I also made changes as recommended by other viewers (cooked a few slices of bacon chopped; skipped the mushrooms; cooked veggies in 1T bacon grease, 1T butter; also used fat free half and half instead of evap milk; added a LOT more OBS as well as a little cajun seasoning; used only half of the flour and instead mashed about half of the cooked potatoes with my potato masher for thickening without a goopy flour taste; and finally, garnished with fresh cut chives and that cooked, crumbled bacon...YUM). Although I did make adjustments, I still say kudos to AMYTHE for sharing this good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Found a pound of haddock in the freezer that was past-prime for serving plain, so got another pound of cod and combined them. First time I've made a chowder of any kind, and it came out really well, and easy to prepare! Twiddled the seasoning a small amount for my tastes and added a couple slices of chopped bacon - and some drippings - as it cooked, but as written would've been just fine, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband was totally impressed with the taste when I served this chowder! So easy to make, yet the best recipe I came up with so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My husband's a commercial fisherman so I'm always looking for new recipes for fish, and this one is definetely one I'll make again. I used fresh Permit(whitefish), used bacon instead of butter, and added carrots, and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We all really liked this and everyone had seconds - my husband, myself and our one year old. The only change I made was I used sole instead of cod because we had some sole that needed to be used up. Also I wasn't sure whether the potatoes were supposed to be cooked or raw - I had some boiled potatoes to use up so I added them instead using raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
So easy and really quite tasty! Even my 10 year old, who won't eat my favorite restaurant clam chowder, loved it. I followed the recipe to a T except I did add one small can of chopped clams. I didn't have bacon to top it with and think that would have been perfect. It was a little flat but salt at the table fixed it for me. Overall it was a huge hit and we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States