Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband really loved this fish chowder. I made a few changes. I substituted 8 strips bacon for the butter, which I chopped in 1/4 inch pieces and then sauteed until crisp (needed to pour off some of the drippings to get down to 2 T) and then added onions and celery. I also added 2 cloves of diced garlic to this. When these were almost tender I added the mushrooms. I did all else as decribed in the original recipe. It made a good fish chowder and fairly simple to do! Thank you for the good recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was really good & so easy to make!! I used more chicken stock instead of the clam juice cause I didn't have any on hand & used about 1 1/2 cups of milk in place of the evaporated milk again didn't have it on hand. I tasted it before serving & it was a little bland so I added garlic powder more salt & pepper & a little paprika. Next time I will saute some fresh garlic in with the onions & mushroom mixture. Very good with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I am from Cape Cod & I know chowder! I've attempted to make chowder before & failed miserably. This was not only easy but SO tasty!! The only thing I changed was using instant potato flakes instead of flour to thicken the chowder and I seasoned the chopped fish with old bay before adding it to the stock. Oh & I'm a vegi-fishatarian (I don't eat any meat except fish) so I used veggie stock instead of chicken stock. I don't know what people are talking about when they say it's bland... it's not CLAM chowder people, it's FISH chowder! If you want that clam taste use ALL clam juice instead of chicken (or veggie) stock! I also used a mixture of cod & haddock- both are white fish so they both work well. AMAZING! I'm so unbelievable excited to make this again- fast, easy and SOOOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I used 2 whole tilapia instead of cod. I filleted them and used the bones to make fish stock intead of using chicken stock. I didnt have mushrooms so I added corn. other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was wonderful. I served it with corn bread. mmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJ2b
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great! Added carrots but followed the rest as written. It had a very mild flavor, not fishy at all. Will make again and probably and more spices to jazz it up a little. Very comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Quite good! not as creamy (aka healthier) as using half & half, but to each his own. I followed some of the other users' suggestions: increased the Old Bay Seasoning, added corn and carrots, as well as clams & scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I cut the recipe in half as I only had a pound of cod to work with. And I started out by making a roux by mistake as that is how I am used to making chowder. Anyway, that helped with other reviewers issues with an uncooked flour taste. I liked this recipe for it's ease...I did feel it was missing a vegetable...carrots or peas, perhaps? I'll experiment until I find the right one. But all in all a good recipe, thanks AMYTHE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We loved, loved, loved this fish chowder. We made it with striped bass caught fresh and frozen just under two weeks. We added lots more Old Bay (husband is a Marylander)and pondered making a roux with bacon grease but opted to keep this simple - didn't want to be cooking all night. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Used same ingredients in crock pot to make use of some leftover baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As written this recipe is 3.5-4 stars. It is a good base. However, AS IS the recipe is bland and a little "off". Once I doctored it, it was 5 stars. I noticed many (if not most) people rating with 5 stars made changes. How can you give a recipe 5 stars if you have to change it? That means the original recipe isn't a 5 star recipe...the one YOU created with changes is! *ahem, okay stepping down from soap box* LOL Anyway, I also made changes as recommended by other viewers (cooked a few slices of bacon chopped; skipped the mushrooms; cooked veggies in 1T bacon grease, 1T butter; also used fat free half and half instead of evap milk; added a LOT more OBS as well as a little cajun seasoning; used only half of the flour and instead mashed about half of the cooked potatoes with my potato masher for thickening without a goopy flour taste; and finally, garnished with fresh cut chives and that cooked, crumbled bacon...YUM). Although I did make adjustments, I still say kudos to AMYTHE for sharing this good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States