Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very nice and easy recipe. I had to leave out the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them (unless he can't actually see them). He's a native New Englander and said that it was as good as any he'd ever tasted - high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I loved this soup! I modified it a bit by adding extra mushrooms, frozen corn and some bacon, and also used lots of extra old bay and toni's Cajun spice instead of salt. Topped with oyster crackers and hot sauce it was delicious. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Unbelievable! I added clams, more old bay and had to use one 12 oz 2% milk b/c I only had one can of evaporated milk. Wonderful soup! Hit the spot! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Just Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I use this site for recipe scoping, & generally incorporate others' suggestions. Modifications were: 1) Subbed 2% milk for evaporated milk 2) Subbed Tilapia for Cod 3) Subbed corn for mushrooms 4) Tripled celery 5) Added 1.5 tsp hickory flavored liquid smoke 6) left out salt & pepper (better to let people add it to taste & according to any diet restrictions). Cooked in crock pot on high temp for 4 hours & served with Rosemary Ciabatta bread & tossed salad w/ balsamic vinaigrette. Made a pleasant, satisfying, wholesome meal that was not too heavy. Somewhat bland, so added liquid smoke, but may add more Old Bay if I make it again. Seems fairly healthy & easy, so makes for a nice, warm satisfying dish that you can feel good about eating & serving to your family. Easy to make, but giving it only four stars because it is rather bland as written & needs doctoring to make it interesting enough to want to eat. I recommend adding spices according to your taste (we liked liquid smoke, salt & more Old Bay seasoning...other recommendations included Thyme & Marjoram). Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe was thorough in timing if you follow the amounts given. I used fresh trout which was very good. Also used 1 teas fish sauce and a cup of water for clam juice. Can use creole seasoning for old bay if need be in a pinch. This was a favorite dish of my husbands. I left out the mushrooms didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
So yummy! I add claims to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wow this is DELISH!!!! Kept pretty much to recipe, improvised with some stuff...consider we are from Maine...seem to know our chowdahs!! Added a dash of hot sauce & the good ole Worchester sauce!! This is a two ++ thumbs up from the hubby!!! Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My first foray into chowders = delicious! I read several reviews and made these changes: first, I started by browning 6 slices of center cut bacon in the bottom of the pan. Since they were center cut, I still needed to add the butter for the onion, mushrooms (used more than 4 bc I had them) and celery. I used two cans of chopped clams and added the clams (reserving the liquid for step 4) and 1 can of creamed corn after step 3. I added 1 tsp of Old Bay and found that was enough. Be careful adding salt if you add the bacon and that much Old Bay. At first it doesn't seem like there's enough liquid, but it makes for a thick, hearty chowder - and with so little dairy! We served it after clams casino and before lobster for Christmas Eve - bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States