Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this tonight. The boss cook gave it raves. I searched the reviews and found changes to the recipe which I made. I added the spices given in one review as alternates to the proprietary one listed. Since that review gave no quantities I added a strong 1/8th tsp of the spices I favored and a scant 1/8 tsp of the ones I'm cautions with. I substituted nutmeg for mace and went with a scant 1/8th tsp on it. I added a half pound of bacon cut in 1/4 in. slivers and cooked separately. I saute'd the onions, celery, and mushrooms in the drippings. I added cooked shrimp and raw scallops. Without thinking it through, I doubled the flour in the clam juice when I thought the mix was too thin. The resulting chowder was pretty thick but acceptable, meaning the boss liked it a lot. Next time though I'll stick with the specified amount and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I added clams and squid, Add bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was easy and very good. I followed the recipe except I did not add mushrooms (forgot to buy them) and used 3.25% milk instead of evaporated milk. My husband and son were impressed, will make it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this recipe with a few embellishments. I substituted cod with haddock and clams. I also added carrots. Instead of chicken stock, I used vegetable stock. I had never heard of Old Bay but used Cherry007's suggestion and it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I liked this recipe, it's quick and simple. I used two celery stalksI sliced my cod fillets thick(fresh NE cod), rather than dicing it so it flaked apart on its own, and for the clam juice I used a can of clams with juice then added some mushrooms with bayleaf, dill, and a pinch of powdered ginger root mixed with the OldBay and some ground cloves. I did the same procedure as instructed and served in mugs with dill and scallions. It was well recieved lunch as today was a bit chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elise
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
We just got back to SW Virginia from a trip to New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Maine. I wanted some more of the great chowder we had been eating, and this receipt was perfect! Very quick and easy. I added shrimp and carrots and used whole milk. Probably lots of the Old Bay - just added and tasted until it was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made a half-batch and left out the mushrooms, added a little celery seed (in place of Old Bay) and used light cream. The cooking times worked well. Thanks AMYTHE for a very good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good. Used stripe bass instead of cod. I spilt ALL the clam juice all over my stove rather than in the soup ! Had to go with more broth instead ( store is to far ) Anyway it was still wonderful .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was wonderful. My teen daughter said it's the best chowder I've ever made. I didn't tell her there was clam juice in it! lol I used all the ingredients except mushrooms, and I added an extra stalk of celery. I made stock with chicken boullion cubes, 5 cubes, 4c water. The only real difference I made was I added two frozen whole haddock fillets before the potatoes and cooked til it came apart, then added the potatoes, and after 10 min, added a fresh fillet as well. Everything else was the same. I will say though, this is a thick chowder; if you like it thinner, try reducing the flour to 1/4c, or you could eliminate it altogether. As a person who does not like clams at all, I was sceptical about using clam juice, but I must say, it gives it amazing flavor, and I'm guessing it's use in the majority of restaurant fish chowders, as it has that full flavor. Don't be afraid to try it, even if you hate clams like I do! Will be saving this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Cooked this tonight with catfish. It's excellent. Added extra Cajun seasonings and liquid from the frozen fish stead of clam juice. Will definitely make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Classen

Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States