Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yum. This is a keeper you can make if you have any leftover white fish from some other recipe. Just use whatever variety you have on hand in this. I had pollack and tilapia and it was great. I halved the recipe because it looks like it is made to feed an army and I still had a large pot of soup. I used Knorr veggie bouillon cubes for the broth instead of chicken because it is what I had and like best and I skipped the mushrooms, they are not at all necessary. Just season to taste, like most people I ended up using lots of old bay. I added a touch of smoked paprika too. Toward the end when it was time to add the evaporated milk I liked the taste so much I felt I could have just as easily omitted it and still had a great thick and rich chowder but I added it anyway. I'm sure I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The only changes I made to this recipe were that I sautéed the vegetables in 1 Tbs butter and 2 chopped slices of thick cut bacon. I cut the fish in about a 1-2 inch dice. After 20 minutes the potatoes were overcooked and having only cooked the fish for the 10 minutes specified in the recipe the fish had completely fallen apart. I tried adding more OBS but it can't disguise the unwelcome taste of the condensed milk. Oh, and even using 2# of fish I only needed 1 can of milk. I'm shocked that so many people liked this recipe. If you're trying to cut down on fat I suggest going with a tomato based soup with clam juice and fennel seed. If it's chowder you're after, find a recipe that calls for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Really happy with my first attempt! Family has all given it the thumbs up. Here are my notes: Used cubed Mahi and diced shrimp. My batch wanted more salt and Old Bay. Used white pepper for a spicier flavor. Wish I would have only used one can of Evaporated milk for better liquid solid ratio. Might swirl in a dash of sherry before serving. Great base recipe with so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is wonderful, especially on a cold Winter day! It's perfect as written, but I like to do half cod and half scallops. I also add some crushed red pepper toward the end of the cooking time to give it a little heat. Thanks for the recipe, AMYTHE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used 1 can of evaporated milk and half pint of cream. Added a good shot of sherry and some nutmeg. Could also add a few red pepper flakes for a kick if you like that. How could that not be delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was delicious! Okay, I had to make some changes to use what I had on hand, but it turned out great. No cod, so I used today's catch...spot, black drum and whiting; husband is lactose intolerant so I substituted diary-free milk and no flour so I used Autry's seafood breader. And some fresh thyme, cilantro and parsley. Despite myself, I got rave reviews! Thank you Amythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this tonight. The boss cook gave it raves. I searched the reviews and found changes to the recipe which I made. I added the spices given in one review as alternates to the proprietary one listed. Since that review gave no quantities I added a strong 1/8th tsp of the spices I favored and a scant 1/8 tsp of the ones I'm cautions with. I substituted nutmeg for mace and went with a scant 1/8th tsp on it. I added a half pound of bacon cut in 1/4 in. slivers and cooked separately. I saute'd the onions, celery, and mushrooms in the drippings. I added cooked shrimp and raw scallops. Without thinking it through, I doubled the flour in the clam juice when I thought the mix was too thin. The resulting chowder was pretty thick but acceptable, meaning the boss liked it a lot. Next time though I'll stick with the specified amount and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I added clams and squid, Add bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was easy and very good. I followed the recipe except I did not add mushrooms (forgot to buy them) and used 3.25% milk instead of evaporated milk. My husband and son were impressed, will make it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this recipe with a few embellishments. I substituted cod with haddock and clams. I also added carrots. Instead of chicken stock, I used vegetable stock. I had never heard of Old Bay but used Cherry007's suggestion and it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States