Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was a good starter recipe. I used a mix of basa fillet and salmon, frozen sweet corn and I didn't have much milk so I made a slurry of milk and flower and then melted some cream cheese in. Added cheddar cheese on top and it was DELICIOUS. It was just missing the fresh dill unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I knew right off the bat that 4 cups would be too much water!! So I only added 2 1/2 cups of water. I also used 1 1/2 cups evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Very good, will add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I fallowed the directions, made no changes and it had very little flavor i think it needs a rew (buttler and flower) to thicken it up a little bit so its not like broth but thicker. Besides that its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My family and I LOVED this chowder....even my two picky little ones!!! I added some diced carrots in with my onions and sauteed them. And I added some fresh spinach leaves for another veggie. They blend right in and are barely even detectable. I also decreased the amt. of water I used because of other reviews. Also, I used new potatoes, diced w/ skins on (because I had a bag of those on hand) and I had to use a cylinder of frozen cream corn, again because that's just what I had on hand. It was a cold, rainy night and I didn't want to have to get out and go to the store. Thanks for this definite KEEPER!! Can't wait to share it with my mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Too watery. Good flavor but next time I won't add all that water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Awesome basic recipe.. 'Course, I tweaked it. :) I used 4 potatoes, 1 cup milk, 1 cup frozen corn, and tilapia instead. I also added chicken bullion to the water to add some flavor and some flour to thicken the soup. It was yummy. Perfect with bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was okay. We thought there were not enough vegetables and too much liquid. It was very good with the corn. I would not make this again but I will add creamed corn to fish chowder in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was a great soup. I added a bit or oregano to and italian seasoning to the soup and it was delicious. I'm making it again as there was not a drop left when I made this last week. Super fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I used some previous suggestions and it turned out great. I added 4 stalks of chopped celery, and 3 chopped carrots for color. I like a thick chowder so I only used 3 cups water and 4 cups milk. Instead of using white flour, I added 1/4 cup of whole wheat baby cereal (its more nutritious!). My family loved how it turned out so this recipe will now be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States