Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really good, I did make a few changes. I used chicken broth for water, added about 5 tbs flour to milk, added four mushrooms, 2tsp old bay seasoning,2tsp grounded black pepper, 2 stalkes celery(chopped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
A splendid recipe as written. I like creamy anything.I added 4+1/2 cups of milk and added flour to the remaining 1/2 cup of cold milk for the additional thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was delicious! My husband is lactose-intolerant, so we used oil instead of butter, and soy milk for the milk, and my family ate the whole pot in the one evening. I will defintely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I fried 3 strips of bacon in my 5 qt dutch oven. I put the bacon in the freezer for another day. I drained all but 1 tblsp of the bacon grease and sauted the onion and potatoes in the same kettle (no water at all). Stir often to get the bacon bits off the bottom for lots of flavor. Then I added the creamed corn, 2-1/2 C Skim Milk and 1 C Half & Half. Added my fish, S&P, (black pepper and lots of it), cayenne pepper, dried dill weed and 2 tblsp butter at the end. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe! I read a few fish chowder recipes but this is the one I went with because it has a great basic style and I'm happy I did. I modified by using chicken broth and clam juice instead of water and I used evaporated milk. I used flounder and added a few stalks of chopped celery the result was a chowder that was good and creamy, delicately flavored with the notes of fish and sweetness from the creamed corn. This recipe seems easy to adapt too and I look forward to trying out different styles. Oh and I used corn starch to get my chowder to the thickness I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I made this great fish chowder as an easy first course for my big family gathering. It was a hit. Easy and delicious. One change - next time I will use 3 cups water and 4 cups milk for a little bit thicker base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a yummy and easy recipe! I used 3 cups of water and 4 cups of milk to make it a little thicker and it was great! Thanks for the recipe! I am sure that it will be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Had never made fish chowder so was looking for a good basic recipe and this is it. I used butter spray instead of butter for sauteeing onion. Provided butter for those who wished to add a pat to their bowl. Used a can of chicken broth with enough water to cover potatoes and cooked them until they were tender (red potatoes in small cubes with peels still on). Did not measure milk, but added until it looked right to me. Used talapia instead of cod. Sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning and a little cayenne into the pot and my secret ingredient for this type of dish which is a dash of cinnamon which brings out the sweetness of the corn and the milk (I don't measure, but maybe 1/4 tsp). Lip smacking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this for the first time as above with the following changes, along with the onion, add 1 chopped leek. With the potatoes. Simmer for 12 – 15 minutes only, they’ll finish with the milk and corn. I separated out 1 cup of milk and mixed that with 1/4 cup of flour which I used to both slow the soup and thicken the broth right before serving. I also used 2 tsp. Old Bay Seasoning along with one packet of vegetable Bovril. Additionally, Cod isn’t necessary. I used a pound of Pollock, and enough Halibut, Shrimp and Scallops to make up another pound. Finally, do not under any circumstances allow your fish to stew for 15 minutes. By all means stew the rest of it until it’s reached a slow boil but once you add that fish, no more than 5 minutes to finish it. Any more and you’ll ruin that delicate meat. It was delicious and consumed with zeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe! My husband loved it -thank you. I modified it just a little - I used crappie and bluegill as that was what I had, cut back the water, added a can of cream of mushroom when the potatoes were tender, then reduced the amount of milk by adding just somewhere in the neighborhood of three cans (I used the cream of mushroom can) of milk. I also thickened my soup up with a little corn starch in more cold milk, stirred well and added to really hot soup. Thanks for posting it - I love looking for different things to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States