Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Okay, I picked this recipe because it had good ratings and seemed simple. Boy, was I wrong. First off, the onions burned within several minutes and when I added the water and potatoes, they were floating in a nice brown burnt onion water. I added more potatoes, less water and less milk because there is no way you'd get a nice thick soup with three potatoes and that much liquid. Still, the consistency was then, so I decided to add flour, which instead of making it thicker, only clumped up and floated at the top. It's still simmering as I type and I am hoping that it will turn out halfway eatable. I know that I won't use this recipe again, even if it tastes alright, because it was a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NillaWafer88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this for the first time as above with the following changes, along with the onion, add 1 chopped leek. With the potatoes. Simmer for 12 – 15 minutes only, they’ll finish with the milk and corn. I separated out 1 cup of milk and mixed that with 1/4 cup of flour which I used to both slow the soup and thicken the broth right before serving. I also used 2 tsp. Old Bay Seasoning along with one packet of vegetable Bovril. Additionally, Cod isn’t necessary. I used a pound of Pollock, and enough Halibut, Shrimp and Scallops to make up another pound. Finally, do not under any circumstances allow your fish to stew for 15 minutes. By all means stew the rest of it until it’s reached a slow boil but once you add that fish, no more than 5 minutes to finish it. Any more and you’ll ruin that delicate meat. It was delicious and consumed with zeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Followed this pretty closely - didn't use any water. Used mostly NF milk, with a little cream thrown in for good measure. Used regular frozen corn. Added one garlic clove. Served with Cheddar Bay Biscuits. Great on a chilly night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong but this tasted horrible. I hate wasting food but we had to throw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My husband made this recipe this weekend and it was really, really good. And unlike most fish dishes, it tastes great re-heated! He did make some changes: Added 6 slices of cooked bacon bits, made a butter and flour roux to thicken, and added a little less than a pint of cream. And he added some cayenne to give it a little kick. My only complaint is my house still smells like fish, and he made this two nights ago!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I fried 3 strips of bacon in my 5 qt dutch oven. I put the bacon in the freezer for another day. I drained all but 1 tblsp of the bacon grease and sauted the onion and potatoes in the same kettle (no water at all). Stir often to get the bacon bits off the bottom for lots of flavor. Then I added the creamed corn, 2-1/2 C Skim Milk and 1 C Half & Half. Added my fish, S&P, (black pepper and lots of it), cayenne pepper, dried dill weed and 2 tblsp butter at the end. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
A good base recipe. I changed the amount of corn (didn't look like enough) and I didn't have quite enough fish on hand. I used tarakihi instead because it looked nicer in the store. I added dried oregano, dried dill and garlic powder. I'll add more next time and maybe some cayenne as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was delicious! My husband is lactose-intolerant, so we used oil instead of butter, and soy milk for the milk, and my family ate the whole pot in the one evening. I will defintely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very good. I used yellowtail tuna instead of the cod. I also used only a half an onion, omitted all the water, used 4 cups of whole milk and added 3 tablespoons of flour while boiling. Chowder came out thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasigrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Nice tasting recipe, but will add more potatoes next time as well as flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States