Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe was delicious, but we did make a few changes. We added carrots, some jicama, and used butter instead of margarine. We also used chicken broth instead of water. I think that these added a lot to the recipe. We have three kids aged 7, 4, and 2, and they all loved it. We would definitely make again and would consider make a roux the next time to make it easier for the kids the eat (less liquid). With the changes, I would rate this a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Used 4 cups Milk with 1 can Evaporated Milk and only 1 cup water. Thickened with a bit of flour. Added 1/3 lb shrimp and 1/3 lb Bay scallops. AMAZING" !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this last night for myself and my 20yo picky granddaughter and it was just awesome! She refused to try it at first, saying fish soup was gross but when she took a taste, her bowl was cleaned faster than mine! We loved it and will make this again and again! I thank all the good cooks submitting recipes...I haven't found a bad one yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I absolutely loved this. I added a few things because I like food a little spicy. I added chopped chives and celery. Also some package seasoning which is a blend of spices and herbs, and just a little curry to the mix. It was wonderful. I also changed the proportion of milk to water as suggested by other people. It was thick and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe! My husband loved it -thank you. I modified it just a little - I used crappie and bluegill as that was what I had, cut back the water, added a can of cream of mushroom when the potatoes were tender, then reduced the amount of milk by adding just somewhere in the neighborhood of three cans (I used the cream of mushroom can) of milk. I also thickened my soup up with a little corn starch in more cold milk, stirred well and added to really hot soup. Thanks for posting it - I love looking for different things to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I don't know that I am the best reviewer for this type of dish as I am not a fan of fish, but I am still putting one here. This was ok. It definitely helped to disguise the fish flavor. It was really good with toasted garlic bread. It does not freeze well though, so don't try it. I didn't think it would, but the recipe made so much I didn't want to just throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe! I read a few fish chowder recipes but this is the one I went with because it has a great basic style and I'm happy I did. I modified by using chicken broth and clam juice instead of water and I used evaporated milk. I used flounder and added a few stalks of chopped celery the result was a chowder that was good and creamy, delicately flavored with the notes of fish and sweetness from the creamed corn. This recipe seems easy to adapt too and I look forward to trying out different styles. Oh and I used corn starch to get my chowder to the thickness I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used whiting for the recipe and it turned out fine. I used the full 5 cups of milk- probably only needed about 3 cups of milk. Used a slotted spoon to scoop out the potatoes/fish/corn part then added some of the milk on top. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is a very tasty chowder; it's good with tilapia, in addition to cod. I concur that extra milk makes it thicker and creamier. I've also found the creamed corn to be an optional ingredient: it's plenty good with just the fish, onions, and potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Okay, I picked this recipe because it had good ratings and seemed simple. Boy, was I wrong. First off, the onions burned within several minutes and when I added the water and potatoes, they were floating in a nice brown burnt onion water. I added more potatoes, less water and less milk because there is no way you'd get a nice thick soup with three potatoes and that much liquid. Still, the consistency was then, so I decided to add flour, which instead of making it thicker, only clumped up and floated at the top. It's still simmering as I type and I am hoping that it will turn out halfway eatable. I know that I won't use this recipe again, even if it tastes alright, because it was a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NillaWafer88

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States