Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I prepared this chowder for a church dinner for 75 people. It was a tremendous hit. Most people came back for seconds, a few for thirds. Easy to and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was very very good. I used dried beef insead of bacon to cut down on fat and it was very good. I did add some lemon juice and salt and pepper we will have this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great recipe, loved it, I did change a few thing, added celery, carrots, freah bay leaf and fresh thyme to the potatoe mixture. I also used 5% cream and cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. Added a little hot sauce near the end and the results were fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good fish chowder and easy to make. I did add some chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in. I also added some cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This meal was delicious. I have always wanted to make my own chowder. This was perfect. The next time I will put more fish in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have to review this recipe again because it's just soooo good! This time, I added celery, mushrooms & scallions w/ the bacon & onion sautee, also used half & half instead of milk and chicken broth in place of the water for potatoes. I also added 1 can of corn - again I used leftovers, grilled swordfish steaks in a terriyaki marinade. I have not tried raw fish yet, but this recipe will work with anything - very versitile and absolutely perfect!! I get such great compliments on this dish, you have to try this! Thank you again for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is great and it is really easy to prepare as well. Despite being such a simple recipes, it taste wonderful. I added a little light soy sauce to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Oh so very good. And it is versitile too! You can use many different kinds of fish (although something firm works best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a very simple, tasty recipe. I used flounder instead of haddock and it would be good with most any fish. I also used cream in place of the milk, and it had a delicious, rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I only used 1 slice of bacon and used 6 potatoes and a little chicken bouillon in the cooking water for the potatoes. I also used tilapia because that is what I had. I just cut it in very big chunks so it wouldn't fall apart as easy and stirred it carefully after I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States