Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
it should not even get one star, but the website makes you put at least one in - but really no stars.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I only used 1 slice of bacon and used 6 potatoes and a little chicken bouillon in the cooking water for the potatoes. I also used tilapia because that is what I had. I just cut it in very big chunks so it wouldn't fall apart as easy and stirred it carefully after I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great recipe, loved it, I did change a few thing, added celery, carrots, freah bay leaf and fresh thyme to the potatoe mixture. I also used 5% cream and cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. Added a little hot sauce near the end and the results were fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I'm afraid I could hardly taste the fish at all. Maybe it was because I used thick-cut bacon, but it tasted more like "Bacon-Onion-Potato Soup" than fish chowder. Sorry; maybe I'll try again with more fish and less bacon, or put some clam juice in with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I loved this chowder partly because it wasn't to fishy tasting and partly because it wasn't filled with heavy cream. I sauted celery and garlic with the onions and bacon and added about 1/8 cup of half & half with the milk. This was even better the 2nd day. Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I added cubed cheese and served it with toasted whole grain bread slices. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
THis was great but I made a few changes so I could throw it in the crockpot... I didn't have any onion, so instead used a couple of ribs of celery and cooked them up with about 1/2 a pound of bacon. I used frozen diced potatoes (about 2 cup) and added a can of sweet corn. I made a white sauce (to thicken my milk a bit). I used whiting (about 4 fillets. I cooked the celery and bacon before adding it to the crock. Cooked it on high for about 4 hours - came out delicious! Even our kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollychester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I prepared this chowder for a church dinner for 75 people. It was a tremendous hit. Most people came back for seconds, a few for thirds. Easy to and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was just like my mom made many years ago when I grew up on Long Island. I used 12 oz of cod filet (nice firm white fish) and I also added a stalk of celery finely chopped to the onion. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and some milk to get the right consistency and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. It needed salt very badly! and oh, I cooked the potatoes mostly in chicken broth. Guess I changed it somewhat, but t was really delicous. My 90 yr old dad said it was just like mom used to make....a real complement for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Hi Guys: I must say, preparing this recipe was great. It was so good that my fiancee who doesn't like soups, enjoyed this one very much. To the point that he had 3 bowls. I really recommend this recipe and thanks to the person who shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States