Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was fish-a-licious! I used frozen swordfish & shrimp. I also used celery, no onion. I added corn & used 2% milk. It was super good! Hubby loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Our family loves this recipe. It is tasty just the way it is; though I usually make the following changes: I add some half & half to give it rich white color. I also add a pat of butter to each bowl, so it melts and floats on top...so tasty. My kids LOVE bacon so I use about 8 slices. It tastes even better the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I did try this recipe but I prefer my own New England version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
A great starting point for a chowder recipe. I would probably jazz it up a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was decent, but it needs some work to be really good. The directions for cooking the bacon and onion are a little flawed. The bacon, when cooked with the onion and added to the soup, ends up turning rubbery in the broth. The chowder itself really lacks seasoning. It needs salt and garlic to really flavor it properly. The recipe calls for milk, but states in the direction "milk product". I used cream to give the chowder a thicker texture. I also used a potato masher to help thicken it before adding the fish. This left some of the potatoes chunky. To make this better if I make it again, I'd cook the bacon crisp and remove and drain it, then use the drippings to cook the onions and a clove or two of minced garlic. I'd save the bacon and garnish the chowder with it at the end, then allow diners to stir it in before eating. (I cooked extra bacon to use as a garnish.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Really good, I added celery to the onion and used thick cut bacon. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginprescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Too fishy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Plummer Eldridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very bland. I added frozen green beans just before serving, this give it a little more texture. With the leftovers, I pureed it and served it as a soup, more pepper was added. I like the simplicity of this reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzieqs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I did add some chicken bullion, but otherwise followed the recipe. I finished it in the crock pot on low for 4 hours and served with fresh baked Rye bread and Caeser salad. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very nice, and very easy. I actually did not have baccon, but I did have left over ham and haddock fillet. I chopped the ham with the already cooked haddock, and it came out great! Also, the pre-cooked ham was probably a lot healthier than baccon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States