First Prize Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My first review on this site, that tells you that I was very happy with the crisp. It was delicious, served it with vanilla ice cream which was a real compliment to the tartness of the crisp. Perfect, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
For some reason I have bad luck with crisps, but this one is different, so I thought I'd try it. Success! I was skeptical about putting the crumbly part on the bottom, thinking it would just be soggy, but it wasn't. I made a little extra of the crumb mixture, to put on top, but really it didn't make much difference and next time I will skip doing that (I'm about to make it again because my husband loved it so much). Great recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janelle
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Didn't have any white flour, so I used all purpose whole wheat flour with quick cooking oats. Turned out delish! The sweetness of the sugars are complemented nicely with the tartness of the fruit and the whole grain goodness. So easy to assemble and tastes like summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is the easiest, best recipe I have tried for this. I didn't have fresh fruit so I made these substitutions: 4 cups of defrosted cubed frozen rhubarb that I squeezed the extra liquid out of. Thawed 1lb bag of frozen unsweetened strawberries that I put in a strainer over a bowl to catch the juices and pressed lightly on the berries to extract more liquid. I substituted some of the water for the berry juice. Since I used frozen fruit and it had more moisture content, I increased the cornstarch by approx 1 tsp. I substituted some of the sugars for sugar substitute (totally optional but I try to cut back where I can.) I put about 1/3-1/2 of the crumb mixture on the bottom of the pan and the rest on top. It came out awesome. I was glad I put some foil under the pie pan because it bubbled over a bit. It also baked in 45 mins at 350 in my electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This recipe is super simple, and it makes your house smell so good!! I would recommend it to anyone. I made it to freeze for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Delicious! Added crumb topping from a handful of the crust. Placed in my recipe box, and I'm sure I will be making this again soon (like by the end of the week) during rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rob6i
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Too much for a 9-inch pie pan.Created a huge sticky mess in a hot oven. I would recommend changing the proportions (like half the water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was simply delicious! I served it warm, with vanilla ice cream. I baked it in a 9x13 pan instead of a 9" round, and I did make the optional topping, using the same ingredients as for the crust, but half the amount, mixed it loosely, then sprinkled over the fruit. I'm keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I was really disappointed in how this turned out.I did exactly what the recipe said to do and read all the reviews from others comments and so I was really looking forward in trying out this recipe.WOW what a disappointment-I love strawberry and rhubarb so I want to try out all kinds of crisp and for this being the first prize crisp I couldnt believe it as I had tried other crisps and they were 10 times better than this one.So I was totally disappointed as I was really expecting this to turn out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe for fresh strawberries and rhubarb - my husband moved it right up his list of favorites at first bite!! I tried it once with frozen strawberries, and it was way too soupy. But, I have substituted other fresh fruit for the strawberries and rhubarb (peaches and blueberries were one alternative), and it is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States