First Prize Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wafflekids
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now and I love it! I was concerned when I first read it that the crust would get mushy with the fruit on top, but that is definitely not the case! The crust is perfect. I added some cinnamon to the crust (I rarely bake anything without cinnamon) and omitted the sugar/cornstarch mixture on top. It was great without it. I made it for 4th of July and put blueberries in the corner and piped in cream cheese icing for stripes to make it a flag. For my cream cheese icing, I mixed cream cheese, raw honey, vanilla extract and cinnamon. It was delicious! I tried to attach a picture; hopefully it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Horrible mess in my oven. A 9x13 pan would be more realistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal! I followed it exactly except I used frozen rhubarb. (My store didn't have fresh). No need to thaw or squeeze just toss it in. So good! Definitely going to make this again and again! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe is great! My 12 year old son asks for it over and over. The "topping" on the bottom is a great surprise but it can be hard to get through but sooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was so easy and quick to make and it was delicious. My family thoroughly enjoyed it and have made requests for this to be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rob6i
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Too much for a 9-inch pie pan.Created a huge sticky mess in a hot oven. I would recommend changing the proportions (like half the water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent flavor and texture. Will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
oh my giggles!! the fam loved this amazing recipe... made it a few times.. even without the rhubarb.. gonna try this with blueberries and boysenberries next!! nomnomnomnomnom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is the easiest, best recipe I have tried for this. I didn't have fresh fruit so I made these substitutions: 4 cups of defrosted cubed frozen rhubarb that I squeezed the extra liquid out of. Thawed 1lb bag of frozen unsweetened strawberries that I put in a strainer over a bowl to catch the juices and pressed lightly on the berries to extract more liquid. I substituted some of the water for the berry juice. Since I used frozen fruit and it had more moisture content, I increased the cornstarch by approx 1 tsp. I substituted some of the sugars for sugar substitute (totally optional but I try to cut back where I can.) I put about 1/3-1/2 of the crumb mixture on the bottom of the pan and the rest on top. It came out awesome. I was glad I put some foil under the pie pan because it bubbled over a bit. It also baked in 45 mins at 350 in my electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States