Fireman's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe turned out very well. I made a delicious bottom and top crust. The only thing missing was the fluted edge. The filling was a little bland for my taste so I added more cinnamon and nutmeg. The filling seemed a little dry but not too dry. I did let the pie set on the table for about 20 minutes before putting it into the oven as other "makes its own crust" recipes direct. I may try adding more liquid next time but that may also make the top crust disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This was one of the worst recipes I have ever tried. I do not recommed it. No "crust" was formed, the flavor can best be described as bland and it looked disgusting! Nothing about this recipe is good. I would suggest you not waste your time on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I like that you didnt have to make or buy a crust with this one. the first time I made it i followed it word for word, the 2nd time I changed it,I also doubled it. Well most of it, I only put 1.5 cups of flour and after I mixed butter/sugar/eggs, I added the flour AND the apples and mixed it around. Also used 1 cup of butter instead. Worked out better and had more of a crust like appeal to it. My 3 boys LOVED it...also sprinkled cinnamon on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
We love this recipe because it's a lot less work than your normal apple pie... BUT... it can come out a bit like "cake" if you don't measure the flour correctly. We also tend to put less sugar in it, only because we don't like our deserts so sweet. That being said, the best compliment I can give is that 9 of the last 10 apple pies that we've made have been this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I think this recipe is GREAT!!!! I've made it for taking to other people's houses, as well as to make it for us here at home. Great with a scoop of frozen ice cream/frozen yogurt! I've even used Splenda in it, it is just a great recipe all around!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I figured I would try it because the calories and fat from the crust are cut out. I added 1/2 cup of sugar to the recipe because it didn't seem sweet enough. The ingredients that make the "crust" were very dry, according to the recipe it seemed like it would be more liquid. But it turned out okay, it didn't really seem to make a "crust" but it did hold together at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Though this pie looked pretty weird, it tasted pretty good. It could have been a little sweeter, but I thought it was pretty good overall. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This recipe didn't really make a crust, and by the time it was done baking, the apples seemed a little dry. Also, it wasn't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was an O.K. recipe. I found it fairly bland, but my 14 month old LOVED it. I don't think I'll make it again & if I did, I think I'd add more sugar & perhaps something to make it a bit more moist? The only thing really great about is how easy it is to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Everyone loved it .. I added a little more margarine, an extra egg some nutmeg and a little honey and maple syrup.. it was gone an hour after I made it my daughter had to hide a piece to save for her boyfriend. Making it again today as requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States