Firehouse Machaca Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Was just meh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Y.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this Saturday. Made it mostly as the recipe directed. When I braise beef I always add a clove or two of garlic and instead of all water I used one can of low sodium chicken broth and water. While the meat was cooling I cooked down the cooking broth to concentrate the flavors. This made for some good tacos. With some added cheese, Avocado and Pico Pica hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I can not believe I made this!! It is soo delicious!! Cooked it in Crock Pot on high for 4ish hrs. Added green salsa and onion soup mix packet to sauteed onions and peppers, then broth, japs and cilantro. So flavorFULL! Can't wait to use left overs in the morning with scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this a little different than the recipe, using my crockpot, but otherwise stuck to the basic recipe and it was delicious! My dad is a retired firefighter and this was something I thought I'd serve him and the rest of the family while he was here visiting. He had to have the recipe! This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was very flavorful. The meat didn't get as tender as I expected, but I think I'll try cooking it in the slow cooker next time to remedy that. Also, depending on the salsa you use, you might need to add salt. I think the key is using a quality salsa verde. I used a local (Texas) fire-roasted salsa verde, and it gave it a great flavor. If you use a cheap salsa, the result will be terrible. Since you're not adding any other seasonings, it's key. The cilantro adds brightness, which we all enjoyed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Almost like my mom use to make. Very tender and juicy. A great filling for shells, wraps or nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
really good - could cook meat w/o mexican seasonings and after shredding, add barbq sce and continue to cook slowly for another hr or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was fantastic! I could not believe how absolutely moist and tender the meat was. This is definitely a keeper!!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really liked this recipe, even the kids liked it. Added both Kosher and Garlic Salts to water while boiling. Substituted can of green chiles for green pepper. Used regular red salsa instead of the green, and I skipped the cilantro because I forgot at the store, but think it would be a nice addition. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States