Firehouse Machaca Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
A great change from seasoned hamburger meat for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Deeeeelish! Had to add garlic however.This is great for making Machaca.What is Machaca you say? It's this wonderful taco filling scrambled with beaten eggs,then served with warm tortillas and salsa. Es muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This is the best!!! Used this as stuffing for quesadillas at a party and everyone wanted the recipe. Versatile too. You can use any kind of meat you wish with the same great result. Hubby can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Give this recipe a try, it is so good with sour cream, Sylvia Eccles Mexican Rice, and beans. My husband loved Machaca burritos when we lived on the border and spent a fortune on them. He almost died when I started making this recipe 2 years ago--he was so happy. We have them almost every Sunday instead of the traditional roast and potatos and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I have been making this recipe for years. I use a pound of green chilies instead of adding the green pepper, add a packet of onion soup, leave out the water and let it cook all day in a slow cooker. We eat it as a fiiling for flour tortilla's. It's just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I used my crock pot to cook this. Took the same amount of time, but I was able to walk away from my kitchen. Awesomely tender meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I made this for a family reunion so there would be something available when people wandered in at all hours and wanted breakfast or lunch or a snack. It is easy and delicious. It's great with scrambled eggs in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
My family loves this as a filling for burritos. I do use red salsa instead of green as that is what I usually have on hand. The recipe freezes well and there are always enough for two dinners (family of 6). Pass the shredded cheese, additional salsa, sour cream, beans and rice, guacamole or anything else you like in your burritos. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
thank you jill!!! i loved to eat this for brunch when i was in california, but it is nowhere to be found in east tennessee. a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Pay no attention to the negative review, this is EXCELLENT and very much reminded me of machaca! Although this isn't a "traditional" form of the recipe, it's an adapted version, which is pretty much a shredded beef filling (and what you're most likely to see in restaurants). Anyway, I did the first part of this in the crockpot and when it came to putting everything together on the stove, I used pimientos instead of the bell pepper. Can't wait to try the leftovers with eggs (another common method of cooking this). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States