Firehouse Machaca Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is great! Had so many compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Made this yesterday in the crock pot. Hubby loved it- had 3 tacos- he never eats like that- i used regular salsa andn added green chilis- hit at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I use regular red salsa, it's so good. So easy and the leftovers are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Really good. A great change from our typical taco fillings. I used a whole jalapeno (about 2tbsp.), but I still thought it could have used a bit more spice. Next time I'll season the beef with some salt, pepper and garic powder and add some cayenne after shredding the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristie
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
this taco filling is so wonderful and delightfully spicy. I don't think I'll ever go back to "normal" taco beef after making this filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Such a good recipe! I've made this several times for guests and my husband always says he likes me to make this when people come over because it shows everybody what a good cook I am! Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Oh my ... this was a waste of a roast. I invited company over and thank goodness they cancelled. Edible, but wouldn't think of trying this again. We ate it doctored up with a bunch of stuff in the fridge. Didn't throw it away so it avoided 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I like the mild flavor and the tomatillo/cilantro combo. Of course, I had to add additional seasonings to the boiling water. I just cannot boil meat in water with just onion.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This is simply divine! I make this in the crockpot. I leave out the water and lightly saute the onions/peppers before adding to the mix. Put in on high or low and you're good to go. I also add a red pepper and onion packet to the mix. I've also made this exactly 'as is' (except I still added the red pepper and onion mix) and it tastes the same as doing it in the crockpot. I've also used this in my tamales! You can make this in a variety of ways and it's still great! Two thumbs up! ** Edited** I am editing this from my original review from mid-August 2007, because I've made this several times since and have done it various ways. I've now decided that the best way and the only way I'll make it is this way. Put the meat in the crockpot and fill it with water. Slice up an onion and add the entire jar of green salsa. (That means I purchase two jars of green salsa, because the second jar I use later.) Cover and cook for 8 hours/low. A hour before I'm ready for dinner, I'll cut up and saute the peppers/onions. When that's finished or near the end, I'll drain the water out of the crockpot and shred the meat in the crockpot. Then I add the sauted peppers/onions, a jar of green salsa, I even add a bit of red salsa (it tastes good with a bit of it added), and the onion mix. That's how I'll make it from now on, because somehow it just tastes better this way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I also omitted the water and put all in the crockpot on high for 6 hours. It served a hungry firehouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States