Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Oh wow! Awesome!!! My husband, who doesn't normally rave about recipes, is raving about this one! I didn't marinate it as long as I should have (should have read the recipe in advance), but it was still sooooo flavourful, even after only marinating an hour. I'm going to try marinating overnight next time, like suggested, because this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Best Salmon Ever! Will be a permanent recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I like the favors of this salmon 1 of many in the 'fish'rotation. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Add us to the list of those who thought this dish was really tasty. We like our food to have a little kick, and this had just the right amount of heat for us. The only (very minor) change I made to the ingredients was to use fresh ginger instead of the ground ginger. I marinated for about 7-1/2 hours because that was all the time I had, but next time I'm going to go for at least 9-10 hours because I think that might be even better. We're not big on outdoor grilling, so I baked the salmon at 400 deg. for about 30 minutes (the fillets were pretty thick); for the next batch I'm going to try the George Foreman grill. And there will definitely be a next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This salmon recipe was so delicious!! It was voted to be our new favorite way to cook salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Stroginis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We used this recipe for our fresh caught steelhead fillets and everyone loved it! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family really enjoyed this meal! Great flavor and I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing is the salmon did stick a bit to the grill (even with my husband oiling the grill). It wasn't horrible, but we will probably try using foil next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was great! I marinated the salmon 24 hours and it was fabulous. Yum soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Tried this with a friend of mine and we both enjoyed it a lot. I didn't have peanut oil so I used a Canola oil instead. The nutty strong flavor of the sesame oil probably made up a little for the absence of the peanut oil. I also used the marination to create a nice sauce (which I used as a dip for the roasted veggies I made on the side), simply dissolve one teaspoon of starch in a half cup of water and add it to the marination and let them simmer over medium heat for few minutes. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I religiously read 20 or 30 reviews to get a very good sense until they start to repeat themselves and I've exhausted most of the really good suggestions. I have always disliked fish. I'll eat sushi but in limited quantity (the non-fishy tasting stuff)--don't like that fishy taste/smell. In an effort to be healthier, I am trying to fix healthier meals and cut back on chicken and meat, I am doing my best to find good fish recipes here. This Firecracker Salmon was fantastic. It will be a regular dish. A friend suggested that sockeye is a great non-fishy salmon. I went looking at Costco and found they have a great wild caught, skin on, flash frozen sockeye bag that are each individually wrapped. I only substituted dark soy for regular soy and doubled the marinade for two filets. I like my spice so I was very heavy handed with both the cayenne and the red pepper flakes. All else followed to a tee. I reduced down the extra marinade to supplement the meal. My fiance suggested we BBQ the salmon filets on a cedar plank. Great idea! He raved as did I over this recipe! Never thought I'd say I love salmon. Thanks very much to Christine L for helping me find a salmon that I love. For you others in my same boat, check out Chef John's Pan-Roasted Halibut with Clamshell Mushrooms and Lemon Butter Sauce. You can sub the expensive Clamshell Mushrooms for Criminis for the same effect. It is a fantastic NON-FISHY dish with fantastic flavor and another stable in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States