Firecracker Fried Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
If you have trouble with the breading, it's best to make sure that your oil is very hot. I just got a deep fryer and find it is better to cook them in there. If the breading is still falling off make sure that when you pull the chicken from the hot sauce that you make sure it isn't dripping wet. Let it quit dripping if you have to. Then make sure the flour mixture coats the chicken very well. Oher than that, I don't know why the breading would fall off. next time you make it and kids have some, try cutting them up into strips. That's the way I have made them from day one. And I always marinate them overnight. The longer the better. Thanks for trying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I used boneless chicken breasts and cut them in half lengthwise for shorter cooking time. I marinated them 4 hours in a baggie with hot sauce, some cayenne pepper, season all salt and garlic powder. For the coating I made an egg wash with 2 eggs, half a cup of milk and a splash of hot sauce. In another bowl I mixed flour, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper. I cut the chicken in strips and coated them with flour, dipped them in egg wash next then flour again. In a frying pan I heated oil then fried them. They were fabulous. Will definitely be on my Fall list for football season finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Overall, great recipe, great flavor, relatively easy prep, the kids loved it. However, my coating was coming off in the oil during frying. I only turned it twice. Not sure what exactly went wrong with breading. If breading would have stayed on better, could have been 4-5stars. If you have any suggestions about the breading write back. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was vary good it is the best chicken I have ever had. I am only 12 years old, and I was able to make it by myself, with minimal supervision. It is great to marinate it the night before you want to have it. The longer you marinate it, the spicer it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbieJ.
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Best chicken ever! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and marinated in Cholula hot sauce all day. Then mixed up the flour, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, Tony Chacherer's seasoning, salt and pepper. Then I dipped the chicken breasts into beaten eggs and milk, then flour mixture, eggs again and flour mixture again. Delicious! Will definitely use this recipe for chicken again and probably for chicken fried steak and pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I did as the recipe poster suggested and used chicken breasts cut up into finger like pieces instead of drumsticks. They did cook faster and absorbed more marinade than the drumsticks did. I also added garlic powder, about 1/4 cup white vinegar and cayenne pepper to the marinade (my hubby likes things spicy). Ran low on coating mixture towards the end and thought I had ruined the last batch, but it turned out great regardless. Have made several times and intend to continue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
My oldest son WOULD NOT eat chicken....until I made this recipe. It has a nice kick to it and I would liken the recipe to Popeye's Chicken and Biscuits Chicken Strips. A variation on this recipe would be to dip it into an egg mixture before the flour/cornstarch mixture and deep fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Good idea, Marinating the chicken beasts in the hot sauce makes the chicken nice and tender. Easy to make and a joy to eat. I have tried it twice and find that adding hot pepper to the dry mix makes it a little hotter then just the red-hot. Also make a dipping sauce with butter and hot sauce goes well. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I let it marinate for 4 hours and I was expecting it to be spicer. I really couldn't taste the hot sauce, but it was good fried chicken. Also, I used my deep fryer which cuts the cooking time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Easy & delicious. All the kids loved it, as well as the grown-ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States