Firecracker Fried Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Husband loved it but didn't give it 5 stars because I did the drumsticks and he felt like after he'd eaten the skin it was just regular tasting chicken. Will try again next week with skinless chicken breasts instead, marinate will probably better absorb all the way through the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used drumsticks as recipe called for it. Also used egg/milk dip before dredging in the flour. Fried until golden brown and then finished in a hot oven and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
these are always welcome at super bowl parties! I use Franks Red Hot wing sauce, worcestershire and cayenne and leave the skin on to soak for at least 24 hours. I add more cayenne to the batter as a lot of the sauce burns off in the oil. Make sure the oil is HOT. Awesome for chicken fingers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alba
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
1rst time FIVE STARS: Very easy and very yummy, I did cover them with the flour mix first then in egg then with the mix. My children loved them. 2.d time ONE STAR: The drumstiks started bleeding like crazy as I fried them. When I took them out of the frying pan they were covered in blood and nobody wanted to eat them. I dont know how to avoid this. 3rd time: I havent done them again, but I found this advice here in all recipes: "In response to the person who did not like the blood coming out of the chicken. Soak the chicken in 1/4 cup of salt for at least an hour, it will draw out the blood." I'll do it like that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe was awesome! As I read in a couple reviews, I too first used an egg wash to make sure the coating would stick and added a little cayenne & garlic powder to the dry mixture and melted some butter and combined it with sriracha sauce for a GREAT dipping sauce. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used chicken breasts because that's what I had available. I also used tapatio hot sauce, since I'm not a fan of hot pepper sauce. I think it could have used a lot more hot sauce than what was listed. I even let it marinade for around 3 hours. Maybe next time I'll let it go for an entire day. That should up the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I am not originally from the south so fried chicken is not something that comes easy for me. I have messed up fried chicken chicken twice in the past and vowed never to make it again. (I do have my pride after all) I have since been diagnosed with a gluten allergy (wheat, barley, and rye) and cannot not eat fried chicken in a restaurant. I made this with gluten-free all purpose flour, gluten-free corn meal and gluten free hot sauce. This turned our great! My husband, who did grow up in the south, said this could be served in any restaurant! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I love this and it has inspired me to branch out with this recipe. The Drumsticks were such a hit! I love to get some friends together for a fried chicken night and make some home made mashed potatos, biscuits and gravy! YUMMM! Thanks for the great recipe! I also tried this with Chicken Tenders and my husband really enjoyed it. The last time I made this, I used Thin Chicken Breasts and put on Hamburger Buns with Pepperjack Cheese, Bacon, Lettuce, and Ranch dressing! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Marinated my chicken 6+ hours and it still had no flavor or heat. Also did not care for the cornmeal mixed with the flour. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Used with chicken breasts and put on bakery buns for spicy chicken sandwiches! Add a little cayenne pepper to the breading for an extra kick! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States