Fire and Ice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I thought I'd like this more than I did. I might make again. If I do, I'll use less celery salt. Love the idea. I'll play with it sometime. The celery flavor was just a bit too much, just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe has been sitting in my recipe box since May 2011. Glad I finally got around to making it. I loved it, my husband liked it. Because we like spicy foods, I upped the cayenne pepper to 1/4 teaspoon. We both loved the dressing of this dish and agreed it would make a nice salad dressing. My husband thought he would enjoy the salad more without the tomatoes, so he picked out all the other stuff and gave me his tomatoes. I thought the entire salad had a really nice flavor. Served this with 'Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs' from AR, grilled Parmesan green beans, grilled garlic bread and 'Chocolate Stuffed Raspberries' a personal recipe from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used red instead of green peppers and It turned out great. I loved how all of the flavors came together and it made the taste very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! Light, refreshing and crisp. We like hot so we used a full teaspoon of the Cayene pepper. It was just right for us. Be advised though - the heat from the Cayenne tends to take a bit of time to really flavor the salad. If you are not sure how much heat you like, add the recommended amount, let it sit for 20 minutes and taste. We used 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was just right. Will be making this often. Next version will be to add some pasta! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very tasty, I love the hot and sour flavors. Can't wait to make this in the summer with homegrown vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Did not like the sweet pickled flavor of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Made this as a starter for a dinner party and it was a fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made this almost 5 years ago to be had with Christmas dinner, so my memory of it is a little fuzzy. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is, admittedly, my fault. I think this recipe would be a perfect summertime one, and in the winter when you're relying on hothouses for your tomatoes and cucumbers and peppers, it loses a little something. It's still really tasty. I can't believe I haven't made it again, as I've intended to all along. Definitely will, next season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Nice salad, I made it with vary little Cayenne since one of our guests doesn't like spicy food and then after I served that person I sprinkled chili powder... it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Made this for a holiday party. It was good but not as great as I expected. I let it set for 8 hours, but I would recommend letting it set for longer. It didn't have as much of a 'kick' as I thought, so next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States