Fire and Ice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used red instead of green peppers and It turned out great. I loved how all of the flavors came together and it made the taste very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! Light, refreshing and crisp. We like hot so we used a full teaspoon of the Cayene pepper. It was just right for us. Be advised though - the heat from the Cayenne tends to take a bit of time to really flavor the salad. If you are not sure how much heat you like, add the recommended amount, let it sit for 20 minutes and taste. We used 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was just right. Will be making this often. Next version will be to add some pasta! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very tasty, I love the hot and sour flavors. Can't wait to make this in the summer with homegrown vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Did not like the sweet pickled flavor of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Made this as a starter for a dinner party and it was a fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made this almost 5 years ago to be had with Christmas dinner, so my memory of it is a little fuzzy. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is, admittedly, my fault. I think this recipe would be a perfect summertime one, and in the winter when you're relying on hothouses for your tomatoes and cucumbers and peppers, it loses a little something. It's still really tasty. I can't believe I haven't made it again, as I've intended to all along. Definitely will, next season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Nice salad, I made it with vary little Cayenne since one of our guests doesn't like spicy food and then after I served that person I sprinkled chili powder... it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Made this for a holiday party. It was good but not as great as I expected. I let it set for 8 hours, but I would recommend letting it set for longer. It didn't have as much of a 'kick' as I thought, so next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made this recipe for a family party. My grandfather loved it so much it is now my job to make this for every family gathering. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent. This turned out so good. I made it the night before and let it marinate overnight, cutting up the cucumbers and adding them about 20 minutes before. It's so tangy and the dressing would be AWESOME served on a salad. I had 3 people ask me for the recipe for this today when I served it at my sons birthday party. I used orange and yellow peppers instead of green because I love the flavor of them so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States