Fire and Ice Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was fabulous. The only reason I am giving 4 stars is because I find the amount of oil in this recipe to be over the top. To each, his/her own, but to those looking to lower the fat and calories - I made a 4-5 serving of this with only 1/4 cup and it is still amazing. :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very nice pasta. I really didn't have 5 1/2 pounds of tomatoes, so I just used what I had and then adjusted the rest accordingly. I was using the last of my sun dried tomatoes in the jar (I couldn't tell if it wanted them in oil or just dried--I used the ones in oil) so I used the remainder of the oil in the jar wtih the tomatoes as well. I just decreased the olive oil I put in. I only sprinkled red pepper flakes (1 tspn wouldve been too much for us) and used green olives with pimento, not sliced so hubs could eat around them as he doesn't like olives. We used fusilli pasta for this, and I just put in enough olive oil to make the sauce oily enough to stir. All in all, I guess I changed several things but the main change was the amount of tomatoes and olive oil. This still was lovely with fusili pasta, and we have some leftovers to eat this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I did use the feta (my family just loves this Greek Cheese). I did omit the olives and added 1/2 chopped orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Bursting with flavor! A little salty though, but poured over the plain noodles balanced it out. I made french bread from this site to go with, and that was the perfect accompaniment. In fact, the sauce is great by itself for dipping fresh bread into. I would make it again just for that! Very healthy if you don't heat it because of the fresh garlic which boosts your immune system, + olive oil which eats up the bad cholesterol + basil + sun dried tomatoes are great too! I used only half the olive oil though, and maybe 6 or 7 roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was really good but I modified the recipe since I had guests over that do not like spicy food so I skipped the crushed red pepper. I also only needed to add 1/2 cup of olive oil-that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
The is a great dish served cold as a pasta salad. I also added some green olives and pepperoni. My salad got rave reviews at a 4th of July get together with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandevillemiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this! I used mini penne because that's what the little guy chose, reduced the olive oil to 1/2 cup, per other reviews, which was perfect for us, and used 3 LARGE tomatoes (not sure of the weight, but I know it wasn't 5-1/2 pounds). The flavors of this were outstanding! As soon as hubby took a bite he said, 'Oh, this is a definate 5 stars'! He also said that he will be asking for this often, and that's fine with me because it's simple to make and FANTASTIC~YUM! IMO, the feta is a MUST! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used 3/4 cup of olive oil, and it was still too much. After it marinated, I soaked up some of the oil with 2 slices of bread. I sliced and added 4 marinated artichoke hearts. Served it over whole wheat spaghetti. I will make this again, but with less oil. Hubby really liked it alot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I usually add half (or even less) the oil and half chicken stock. It adds flavor and liquid but cuts down the fat. My entire family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States