Fire Roasted Tomato and Feta Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I have given 5 star ratings before, but I have to say that this leads them all! Fire roasted tomatoes was pure genious especially when combined with the feta cheese. Because of the salt content in both the tomatoes and the feta cheese, I opted not to add any additional salt. It was not missed, in fact, it was perfect. For a double recipe I used 3 cans of the tomatoes and a pound and a half of the larger (21-25 count) shrimp. Will I make this again? , oh yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This dish was spectacular. It tasted like I was eating at a very nice italian restaurant, but it was so simple to make. This is something I will make again and again! Everybody should try this one. I made it with brushetta and it was a fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! A welcome change. I did use a few more shrimp and cut them in half to better distribute them. It made far more than two servings. At least 3 if not 4 depending on the appetite. I did have a hard time finding the fire roasted tomatoes, but I'm glad I did. This would have been very bland without them. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Tastes good. Don't add extra salt due to the shrimp, tomatoes, and feta. Feta is a very salty cheese. For those who can't find the fire roasted tomatoes, Safeway carries Hunt's brand, but I prefer Muir Glen Brand. They are organic, and have a wonderful roasted tomato flavor, deeper than the Hunt's brand. Also, they don't have that canned tomato taste as much as the Hunt's brand does. They can be found in your grocers organic foods section or at a health food stores. They are pricey, but well worth it. It's the only canned tomato I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I make a very similar recipe. It has been my go to shrimp pasta recipe for years. I saute a small onion in olive oil, then add the garlic cloves for one minute. Then I add the fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 c. white wine, fresh chopped oregano and some red pepper flakes. I simmer this together for 15 minutes or so. After the pasta is done, I add the shrimp to the sauce and cover the pot. When they have turned pink, I crumble in 4 oz. feta and stir well. Pour it over the pasta, garnish with fresh parsley and serve. Key is not to overcook the shrimp. Cheese does not need to melt, just be distributed well in sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
wow! I am 13 and i made this for my parents (as i love cooking and pretty much cook everything) and they both said it was the best meal I has ever made. i made the recipe yield 4 servings and used 3 servings of those little baby frozen shrimp amnd the fun pink striped noodles i bought at a specialty store. next time i will use more shrimp or only cook the 3 servings my family needs! and everyone should try this! it was like a restaraunt in italy and with fresh toasted garlic bread it is even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
YUM! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! First off, this is SUPER EASY - and really good. I, too had to hunt for the fire roasted tomatoes and they are worth it. I also used a lot more shrimp, frozen raw. Unless you can find the really huge (and expensive) big prawns you really need to use a pound. I also used butter instead of olive oil to saute the garlic. I also used more like a cup of feta and put it in the pasta when it was really hot so when I mixed everything up it gave it more of a creamy texture but the flavor of the feta came through. Also used dried basil instead of fresh and that was fine too. My husband said "this is like a restaurant meal" and it took me 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is a great little whip up recipe. I couldn't find the fire roasted tomatoes, but subsititued them with a chilli tomato concotion and everyone is still raving about it. I also finely diced up some red (spanish) onion and half a carrot for a little more flavouring and a little chilli... Yum! =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mac

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Central Coast, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious. The flavors complemented one another perfectly and the shrimp was an excellent addition to the pallet. We used 12 shrimp and cut them in half to ensure they lasted longer. I would probably recommend adding more shrimp (maybe 20?) & cutting them in half. The easy-peel shrimp were not costly & were very good. Another good addition to the recipe would be olives. This recipe received 5 stars because my husband just couldn't stop raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was amazing! Of all the recipes I have tried on here so far, this is the one the family keeps asking for. I did use dried basil because I couldn't find any fresh basil in the store. When I told my husband it was fire roasted tomatoes, he thought it was going to be spicy but it's not at all. I love the way the flavors of the tomato and the feta intermingle. This is an all around great recipe. I highly recommend it! If you or someone you know doesn't care for shrimp, you might try substituting for chicken pieces. I did this for a friend and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States