Finnish Turnip Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I really like this; my grandma would make something like this but it wasn't a sweet version. So I used this as a base. Instead of adding sugar I added dill and a pinch of cinnamon. I also did not make a topping to it. It turned out a nice savory version of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy to make and so delicious. We will have this one again and again. I did cut back on the sugar by a few tablespoons and no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digitsis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was a little funky for us. Couldn't help but feel like I was eating very scrambled eggs with carrots. The texture was a little off-putting. I feel bad but not my favourite recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This can excite a non=turnip eater to possibly enjoy them! I used spelt flour instead of all purpose flour, and half the amount of honey instead of sugar, with just cinnamon sprinkled on top. Great both hot or cold! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Tira shared this family recipe with me and I made it for Thanksgiving this year and it was a HIT!! So yummy, perfect addition to my table!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Tasty way to serve turnips to people who don't like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was just ok for me. I didn't care for the cinnamon topping and even with the addition of the eggs, the casserole was not firm enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a great vegetable dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I made this dish for Christmas dinner. I prepared it up to but not including the baking of it, froze it and thawed it Christmas eve. I popped it into the oven for an hour when the turkey was finished and resting prior to carving. It was light and tasty. The whole family, all 15 of us, enjoyed it, even the one year old! It will be featured in our family recipe collection and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States