Finnish Style Mojakka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Unfortunately we didn't like this at all. It tasted very bland, had to finish it by adding A1 steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Have to have allspice and rutabaga along with the beef, carrots, onions, celery and potatoes. Whole allspice not ground although ground does work but clouds the liquid. Forget the flour. Both of my parents were 100 percent Finn. Without allspice and rutabaga its not mojakka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Loved it. It was soooo good. My husband even complimented and usually he picks things apart. I did add about a tsp. of allspice to it per some of the other reviews. I cooked mine longer too. After the veggies went in I cooked it for about 2 more hours instead of 1 1/2 hrs. The meat was so tinder. Can't wait for left overs at lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Mojakka is one of my favourite comfort foods. My mom makes the best mojakka. This is pretty much exactly the same way that she makes it except that she adds whole allspice (I'm honestly not sure how much... for a big pot, probably about a tablespoonful). The only problem I have whenever I try to make it myself is that the beef always turns out tough. I haven't figured out what I do wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Personally, I adore mojakko (unless it's kalamojakka, ask an American Finn about that), but mojakko isn't eaten in Finland. It's kind of the Finnish-American equivalent of green beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was the recipe I have been looking for! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect ingredients, and easy to make. My Finnish grandmother was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
My mother and grandmother always added whole allspice to the broth instead of cracked pepper. Also you can add carrots and/or rutabaga. It is the essence of comfort food on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States