Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Not impressed, very dry even when reduced baking time a lot. Dough did not taste nearly as good as most sweet dough recipes, even imagining without cardamom. Dough was easy to work with & did turn out pretty. Used extra cardamom as many suggested, but was too much for me. Better as cinnamon rolls with currants. Would like to try adding just a bit of cardamom to my favorite sweet dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I loved the cardamom but other than that wasn't too impressed. It was just way too dry. I will probably just add the spice to the Portuguese sweet bread recipe from the company's coming bread cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is actually a recipe published by B.A. Ojakangas in her book "The Finnish Cookbook". I have my grandma's copy from 1964 (2nd printing). If you look to her book, you will see there are several different patterns in which to form the bread. The "Christmas pigs" are my favorite. Mrs. Ojakangas has published several cookbooks, all of which are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
absolutely delicious and easy! one of my childhood favorites and my mom brings me some every time she visits. I ended up making 4 smaller loaves and giving them as gifts (well 3 - saved one for myself). I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes as others suggested- instead of regular sugar for the top, I added pearl sugar sparingly so it wasn't too sugary on the top. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is exactly like my mom's, except that she is so frugal that she wouldn't use 4 eggs when 2 would do. 4 eggs is way better. I used this to make the traditional pulla ring for Christmas. I added raisins and currants to the dough and decorated with sliced almonds and fancy sugar. I also used this for cinnamon rolls. All turned out great. I increased the cardamon as was suggested. Tis is a recipe that more people should try. It is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this yesterday and it looks just like the picture. It was beautiful and delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the Cardamom. I added a scant tablespoon and it was delicious. The raw dough tastes stronger than the baked do don't worry if you taste it and it seems strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This bread is amazing! I agree with the many others who say to increase the cardamom. I used 1 1/2 crushed seeds, fresh from the pod. Also, a note to bread novices, the dough maybe very sticky and wet during that first turn out of the bowl, but it will firm up as you knead more flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
great recipe!!!! since i was a child, everybody used to made these in our village for chirstmas... i love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was my first time baking bread. It turned out great, and I got a lot of compliments! As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the amount of cardamom, and it tasted just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this one. And as a Finn would say, Hyvää ruokahalua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States