Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I loved the cardamom but other than that wasn't too impressed. It was just way too dry. I will probably just add the spice to the Portuguese sweet bread recipe from the company's coming bread cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is actually a recipe published by B.A. Ojakangas in her book "The Finnish Cookbook". I have my grandma's copy from 1964 (2nd printing). If you look to her book, you will see there are several different patterns in which to form the bread. The "Christmas pigs" are my favorite. Mrs. Ojakangas has published several cookbooks, all of which are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
absolutely delicious and easy! one of my childhood favorites and my mom brings me some every time she visits. I ended up making 4 smaller loaves and giving them as gifts (well 3 - saved one for myself). I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes as others suggested- instead of regular sugar for the top, I added pearl sugar sparingly so it wasn't too sugary on the top. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is exactly like my mom's, except that she is so frugal that she wouldn't use 4 eggs when 2 would do. 4 eggs is way better. I used this to make the traditional pulla ring for Christmas. I added raisins and currants to the dough and decorated with sliced almonds and fancy sugar. I also used this for cinnamon rolls. All turned out great. I increased the cardamon as was suggested. Tis is a recipe that more people should try. It is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this yesterday and it looks just like the picture. It was beautiful and delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the Cardamom. I added a scant tablespoon and it was delicious. The raw dough tastes stronger than the baked do don't worry if you taste it and it seems strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This bread is amazing! I agree with the many others who say to increase the cardamom. I used 1 1/2 crushed seeds, fresh from the pod. Also, a note to bread novices, the dough maybe very sticky and wet during that first turn out of the bowl, but it will firm up as you knead more flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
great recipe!!!! since i was a child, everybody used to made these in our village for chirstmas... i love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was my first time baking bread. It turned out great, and I got a lot of compliments! As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the amount of cardamom, and it tasted just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this one. And as a Finn would say, Hyvää ruokahalua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend's parents who were visiting for the weekend. They are from a Finnish family and their grandmother makes Pulla often-they said mine was just as good! Great recipe. I halved it and it made a good size loaf to share. Nice and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States