Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Koitos! Just like mummo used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made 12 servings or 1 loaf. Tasted really good but it got burnt on the top and would have probably burned on the bottom too but I turned the oven off for the last 8 minutes of cooking time. Next time, I'll decrease the cooking temperature to 350 degrees. Served with "Honey Butter." I've never had any type of Finnish Pulla so I have nothing to compare this too. The cardamom/sugar sweetness tasted really good though. Last of all, I sprinkled some sugar in the raw on top after using the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Turned out so well! Used a heaping tablespoon of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've tried a few recipes for Pulla, and this is the closest to the heaven my Finnish grandmother used to make. Like her, I glaze my loaves with 1/4 c water and 1/4 c sugar boiled for a couple of minutes, and top with coarse sugar. She used to make pulla doughnuts, deep fried and tossed with sugar in a bag. I haven't tried this because I know I will eat at least 23! As per others, lower the temperature as the sugar in the loaves burns easily. I use a scant tablespoon of ground cardamom or crushed cardamom seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one that my family makes each Christmas so it must be good. I won't be straying from my family recipe but for those of you out there making this bread here's a tip: Put at least 1 tablespoon of cardamom in. If you're worried about the spiciness of it, don't, there is plenty of sugar in there to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Not impressed, very dry even when reduced baking time a lot. Dough did not taste nearly as good as most sweet dough recipes, even imagining without cardamom. Dough was easy to work with & did turn out pretty. Used extra cardamom as many suggested, but was too much for me. Better as cinnamon rolls with currants. Would like to try adding just a bit of cardamom to my favorite sweet dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I loved the cardamom but other than that wasn't too impressed. It was just way too dry. I will probably just add the spice to the Portuguese sweet bread recipe from the company's coming bread cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is actually a recipe published by B.A. Ojakangas in her book "The Finnish Cookbook". I have my grandma's copy from 1964 (2nd printing). If you look to her book, you will see there are several different patterns in which to form the bread. The "Christmas pigs" are my favorite. Mrs. Ojakangas has published several cookbooks, all of which are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
absolutely delicious and easy! one of my childhood favorites and my mom brings me some every time she visits. I ended up making 4 smaller loaves and giving them as gifts (well 3 - saved one for myself). I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes as others suggested- instead of regular sugar for the top, I added pearl sugar sparingly so it wasn't too sugary on the top. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is exactly like my mom's, except that she is so frugal that she wouldn't use 4 eggs when 2 would do. 4 eggs is way better. I used this to make the traditional pulla ring for Christmas. I added raisins and currants to the dough and decorated with sliced almonds and fancy sugar. I also used this for cinnamon rolls. All turned out great. I increased the cardamon as was suggested. Tis is a recipe that more people should try. It is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States