Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy bread. We used cinnamon in place of cardamon. Also, as with the previous reviews, the oven temperature must be lower, 350 or 375. You just really have to watch it. My husband's foster father was Finnish and made this when my husband was growing up. He would coat the finished baked bread loaves with Karo syrup, which we did. Then on each of the three loaves we sprinkled either brown sugar, large decorator sugar or cinnamon sugar. Slice it thin, and enjoy. Oh, one other thing you can do is watch some "how to" youTube videos on how to roll and braid the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwoodred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Thank you for this recipe, my gramma and Mom used to make this at Christmas and I haven't found her recipe in her books - I think it was so memorized, it didn't need to be written down. When I was little and this got "stale" Grannie used to cut it into small pieces like biscotti brush with melted butter, add sugar and cinnamon and bake in the oven until crisp - then we used to dunk it in our coffe - which we could have on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Perfect! Having 3 loaves to deal with wasn't a problem! This reminded me of my wonderful semester abroad in Rovaniemi, Finland. When I opened up that jar of cardamom, it brought back so many good memories :) Best served warm with coffee, like the Finns do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was only my second time making bread and it was sooooo good. I thought braiding the loaves would be really difficult but it really wasn't. My biggest problem was actually rolling out the braid logs lol. It was so sweet and had such a great flavor. I ended up making 6 mini loaves. I will definitely making this again. The time it took was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My Mummu (Finnish for Grandma) was well known for her Pulla and cinnamon rolls. We only used milk (no water) and melted the butter in the milk on the stove (just warm, not hot). Look for something called pearl sugar in the Swedish part of the international section of your grocery store. It's like a puffed sugar that's great on this. The other commenter mentioned the cinnamon rolls - they're awesome, but we used brown sugar instead of white (I'm sure either is good). Also, when you roll it up, you can cut it at an angle and then press down with the back end of a knife on the short end (imagine a short side with two 45' angles out to the long side) to squish out the sides a bit - hope that makes some sense... http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa278/crudo20/Pulla.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I am Finnish on my mothers side and she loves my pulla! I use my breadmaker to do the dough on the 2hour 25 min mode and i put in all the ingredients (extra cardamom!) as listed and then after bread had risen and gone thru 2 kneading cycle i add raisins for one more kneading cycle (otherwide they get chopped up) I then divide the dough as instructed and make the braided variety with the egg wash , and slivered almonds. So easy i make on the event day ie Christmas , Easter or whenver i need it, My family is always so happy i can do this as my mother is happy to have someone else do it! I love this pulla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
PERFECT. This works with soy milk, which is what I used. My grandpa is a linguist and has done quite a bit of service in Finland, he knew exactly what this was when he saw it. I had some trouble in the mixing process-- no bread mixer, so didn't get as much beating into it as hoped, but it didn't cause any problems. 2nd stage of rising I put it in the oven @ 170 degrees F for about an hour. Beautiful bread. Oh, I cooked only one loaf at first, and it does NOT need 30 minutes.. it started getting too done at 24, I'm guessing 20-22 would've been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Absolutely awesome bread. I did make some mistakes the first time that I will correct the second time. First, it seemed to make 3 overly large breads. Next time, I will make 5 smaller braids that are longer than they are wide. (I had a problem with 2 of the breads being too wide and they didn't bake inside.) Next time, I will also put cinnamon and sugar with butter inside, and roll up the bread tightly and seal it so it doesn't seep out. (One of the breads that I didn't tightly seal seeped, and the bottom of the bread burned on the seeped sugar.) My bread (the one that came out perfect) looked like #10photo, with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top. Next time I will also try some icing. Wonderful bread. Similar to a bakery bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I scaled the recipe to 2 loaves. Substitutions - water in place of milk, slightly reduced the sugar, lard in place of butter, 50% more cardamom. 3 rises. whole egg only wash. 3 strand braid baked at 375 till internal temperature of the loaf is 190. 5 star result with a unique flavor (never tasted cardamom before). Great crumb, great crust, everybody I gave a sample to liked it. Will make again if I need a dessert type of bread. Probably will add a glaze or granulated sugar to the egg wash, cardamom and sweet go together, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very yummy, just a subtle sweetness. However, even only baking at 350 degree for 25 minutes, the bottoms burnt. So next time I would lower the temp to 325. I also divided the dough further so I ended up with six mini braids. This would have been perfect for holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States