Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have been making pulla for years now,like my grandmother i like to hull white cardamon pods, crush them and when warming the milk you let the cardamon steep in it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is a delicious bread that our family has loved for years, northern Minnesota is prominently of Finnish orgin and you find Finnish Bisquit aka (Pulla) everywhere. I have been making this for years, and have found that if you use whole milk, and real butter, and knead it till it shines, you will get a perfect bisquit, also reduce your oven temp to 350, and you can actually make 5 smaller braids out of the dough. I also brush with egg and sprinkle with lump sugar before baking. It is wonderful fresh with butter, and also delicious toasted with coffee in the morning! I usually add just a little more than a teaspoon of cardamom, the fresher the better, you can find cardamom already ground at whole foods coops which are really reasonably priced, and very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Delicious! This recipe was spot-on. I doubled the cardamom and changed the baking time to 30 minutes @ 350. The bread had a light crust and a too-good-to-be-true moist center. It tore right off the loaf. This strikes me as a great King Cake recipe as well. The amount of dough made could easily be rolled up into that South Louisiana confection. I think next time I'll try adding cinnamon and sugar between the twists of the loaf to give it more of the King Cake feel. Overall, this is an excellent bread to know how to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This bread is fantastic. Such a great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I just got into baking, and this is actually the first bread I ever made, and it still turned out amazing! I ended up using Cinnamon instead of cardamon, but thats ok because I have a love obsession with Cinnamon! While preparing I didn't realize that the ingredients were set for 3 loaves! That's going to be too much for 2 people people to eat, hopefully we can find someone to give at least one of the loaves to. Also, I let it rise 2 times naturally, then put it in the fridge overnight and it rose again. Someone told me that the best taste comes out that way. I highly suggest people cook it at 350 for 30-35 minutes. At 400 the crust bakes too fast, and it can actually remained uncooked inside! After the first loaf I adjusted my temperature and the rest came out perfect. They turned out with a nice shell, but it wasn't too hard. The inside was nice and soft, but still thick and not overly fluffy. It had a sweet taste, and it looks beautiful too. Its actually very easy to tear off into portions instead of cutting because of the braided portions, and I feel like this would go really well with a holiday dinner instead of baking traditional biscuits. I highly recommend,and hope I find more yummy bread recipes ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluesnow

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I've lived in Finland for the past 13 years, and this is very close to the recipe I've always used to make pulla. If you can get fresh yeast, you can substitute 50g (about 2 ounces) of fresh yeast for the dry yeast. You can also use this dough to make just about any shape you want. I usually bake it as individual buns, topped with pearl sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Tämä on aika hyvä kahvileivät, samanlainen kuin isoäidin This is pretty good, similar to my grandmother's, I ground the cardamon pods in the spice grinder, and doubled the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyliee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
not sure what this was supposed to taste like, but I tried to follow the recipe exactly, and it was delicious! Nice sweet bread that was just beautiful, and the recipe makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States