Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe I grew up making. Most of my family is from Finland, so this is a delicious bread we had often when I was a child. I always use Saf Instant Yeast Gold Label(2 1/4 tsp), and instead of 1tsp cardamom I use 1T. I have never had a problem with the dough rising. It always comes out perfect, just like my family made it. Definitely incredible. I only make it on Easter and Christmas, but it is always well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My Great grandma came to the US from Finland. My family makes this bread all the time. The only difference is that we also include orange juice concentrate. Just 2 T. It's delicious! I need to go and make some Pulla now!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I am half Finnish and this is one of my absolute favorite homemade breads. I love cardamom so I use at least 2 teaspoons and have used 3 without it being overwhelming. You can also add another fourth cup of sugar if you prefer it a little sweeter. I bake it at 350 because it does tend to bake too fast on the outside at higher temps. As others have said, the bread freezes really well so it's worth it to make extra loaves and put them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Having both parents born in Finland, I have made this exact receipe for years. I use only 2 eggs in my receipe to make a lighter but still moist bread. I cook in a 350 degree for 30 mins. Using whole cardamon grounded makes a more flavourful bread or using 2-3 teaspoons ground, works well. Another yummy treat you can do is to a protion off the bread and roll and spread in a 8 x11 rectangular pan then add blueberry pie filling ( homemade or bought) and bake for about 20 -25 mins. Everyone in my family LOVES this delicious treet. We have even used this for cinamon toast and french toast. This is a big staple in our family and has been for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. It rivals the pulla that I buy at the local bakery. In fact, it might even be better! I could not for the life of me get the dough to rise the first few times; wasn't the yeast or the rising temperature I don't think - I didn't beat the dough enough to get it elastic. On the third try, I beat the dough a good long time and had no trouble getting it to rise. Excellent recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This bread was amazing! I added raisins to one loaf (I boiled them in water to rehydrate them). Along with the egg wash and the sugar, I topped the loaves with a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamom. I definitely will make this again, it's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! Much easier than the one my Finnish grandmother left me, and tastes just as good - maybe better! Like others, the only thing I changes was adding more cardamom - 2 tsp. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a hit with my kids. It tasted great and was easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mine came out beautiful and tasty! I didn't have cardamom so I used cinnamon instead. I also barely had enough flour which was scary but they came out great. They didn't actually rise at all but it's also my first time making a yeast bread. They taste great and I'm gifting them with some jars of strawberry rhubarb jam. I think I'll make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
As a major pulla fan living outside Finland, I just HAD to make these for my family this week - its Christmas! This recipe was spot on and I managed to understand it clearly enough to have a major success. This is the very first time I have ever baked anything and I am super happy with the results. Thanks a lot, will definitely polish up with extra cardamom in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States