Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use more than one tablespoon of cardamom. I purchase the black cardamom seeds from the spice store and grind them in the blender or coffee grinder just before I need it for this recipe. The pre-ground that you purchase in the grocery store has no flavour compared to fresh ground. Try it! It takes the pulla to a whole new level of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good! I did decrease the butter to 1/3 c and the sugar to 3/4 c. This was more than enough. It does make a lot of bread, so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
doubled the cardamom. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Great recipe! To make it a little bit healthier I use 3 whole wheat flour and the remaining 6 unbleached flour. It always turns out great. Be sure to use the correct temperature of water for the yeast otherwise it will not rise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this as gifts for my kids teachers. We enjoyed this so much we couldn't stop eating it. I made six half loaves instead of three big loaves. I just kept a close eye while they were baking. I baked the half loaves at 350 for about 20 min. This will definitely be put in my book for next year. Wonderful holiday bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My Finnish grandmother would be MORTIFIED to see this recipe all over the Internet, she always said the only way I could share it was if I married someone non-Finnish whose mother wanted the recipe!! As far back as I can remember, I have made this recipe with my mother and grandmother for Christmas. My mother perfected it and I am happy to carry the torch (I'm a mere 25% Finnish - Finnish enough to make cardamom bread!), especially now that both my mother and grandmother are no longer with us. This recipe is VERY close to the one we always make and has ALWAYS been a huge hit with friends and coworkers at the holidays. Everyone always asks for the recipe and we've always said "sorry, family secret." One small tweak: we always used FRESH cardamom and grind ourselves (I use a coffee grinder, my mother would put in a baggie and smash with a meat tenderizer, my favorite part besides beating the dough when I was little!). The best part is you'll have leftover cardamom to put in coffee the morning after Christmas when you enjoy a nice piece of bread with your coffee. We add a little frosting made of powdered sugar and a tiny bit of milk, drizzle over a cooled fresh loaf and garnish with sliced almonds and maraschino cherries. YUM!! Love that I am not the only Finnish American out there who enjoys this for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe I grew up making. Most of my family is from Finland, so this is a delicious bread we had often when I was a child. I always use Saf Instant Yeast Gold Label(2 1/4 tsp), and instead of 1tsp cardamom I use 1T. I have never had a problem with the dough rising. It always comes out perfect, just like my family made it. Definitely incredible. I only make it on Easter and Christmas, but it is always well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My Great grandma came to the US from Finland. My family makes this bread all the time. The only difference is that we also include orange juice concentrate. Just 2 T. It's delicious! I need to go and make some Pulla now!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I am half Finnish and this is one of my absolute favorite homemade breads. I love cardamom so I use at least 2 teaspoons and have used 3 without it being overwhelming. You can also add another fourth cup of sugar if you prefer it a little sweeter. I bake it at 350 because it does tend to bake too fast on the outside at higher temps. As others have said, the bread freezes really well so it's worth it to make extra loaves and put them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Having both parents born in Finland, I have made this exact receipe for years. I use only 2 eggs in my receipe to make a lighter but still moist bread. I cook in a 350 degree for 30 mins. Using whole cardamon grounded makes a more flavourful bread or using 2-3 teaspoons ground, works well. Another yummy treat you can do is to a protion off the bread and roll and spread in a 8 x11 rectangular pan then add blueberry pie filling ( homemade or bought) and bake for about 20 -25 mins. Everyone in my family LOVES this delicious treet. We have even used this for cinamon toast and french toast. This is a big staple in our family and has been for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States