Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
It takes a long time to make but so is well worth the wait! My husband and kids love it! Being Finnish American I had to try it at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Negaunee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
great recipe...I cheat and put a bit of orange zest in - it brightens up the flavour and as other people have noted...the bread is great with juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I am 50% Finnish and this recipe is as close as I've been able to find for the wonderful Finnish Nisu that my aunt Hulda used to make! Her Nisu was the standard in the entire family. NOTE: Add 2 teaspoons (not 1) of cardamom (there is never too much cardamom in any thing). This bread does not have to be a "coffee bread" and it is delicious with orange juice or hot chocolate too. When I was a kid, my aunt would get her Nisu right from out of her freezer (on a really hot summer day), slice it and put some butter on it and serve it with juice - for any children visiting. What a memory!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Pretty good. Add raisins too to make it authentic. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
My entire family loved this! It's not overly sweet and has a wonderful texture. The only change I made was to bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes (as in the nearly identical recipe for Finnish Nissua). The loaves turned out golden brown and perfect. I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I personaly was not happy with the result. It has a great taste, but I don't think all the work is worth it. I probably wont make this again. It also browns to fast. I would think about turning down the heat to maybe 375 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
It was good bread with a nice twist of cardamon. The bread turned out dryer than I like it, but I have a feeling that can be fixed fairly easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I've made this bread for years for Christmas and Thanskgiving. It's ideal as it's sweet but not too sweet. We call it Finnish coffee bread (I'm of Finnish descent). Instead of ground cardamom we put the seeds in which for some reason really add WONDERFUL flavor. Each person in our family has modified the original recipe from my great grandmother from Helsinki so that the bread is either chewier and denser on one hand or light and airy on the other. In either case it's great. Enjoy and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I can't believe how tasty this bread is! I'm not much of a cook, okay I'm horrible, but this bread is the one thing I really enjoy making and it's tasty to boot. I've gotten rave reviews from friends and colleagues and am always finding people reqesting this delicious bread. Try it, you'll LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-129 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States