Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this bread as Christmas gifts. One friend called and told me her 13 year old son said, "This bread makes me smile." Another friend told me if I kept making this for my friends they might not like me. She could not quit eating it. I also up the cardmom to 1tablespoon. Might use even a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
It was very good. I too am trying to work with homemade bread to, was a good recipe to follow. My kids love this bread!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
..My brother opened a cafe in Conneaut Ohio and sent me a loaf of bread that is made by a local bakery. I came across this recipe and found it to be very similar. It was fairly easy to make and tastes very close to the one from Ohio. I added at least 1 Tbls of cardamom (love it) and dusted with crystal sugar like they did..So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I make this bread for my grandparents whom are from Finland. They love the cardamon so I usually use a tablespoon, maybe even a little more...I feel you dont really get that taste if you only use a teaspoon. It takes a long time to make but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is pretty close to the recipe that me and my mom use here in Finland. Here is another tip to make it even more special: Instead of dividing the dough into 3 parts for braiding, form it into a one big strip and roll it out into a big rectangle. Then spread soft butter evenly on the dough and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top of the butter. I like to use all three generously ;) After this, roll the dough rectrangle into one long roll. You can make some cuts on the loaf if you want (every 2" for example), this is not necessary but the bread looks nice this way. Brush each loaf with egg wash and sprinkle with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very delicious! I scaled down the recipe to make 2 loaves (so I could use my mixer). I increased to 1 and 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom and made 1 with orange juice/powdered sugar glaze and 1 with sugar/almond mixture as suggested by another reviewer. I preferred the glazed loaf. Next time I will add a little orange zest and some raisins to the dough. Baked at 375 for about 25-30 mins. Can't wait to have a slice for breakfast with my coffee. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Awesome recipe. I Made it for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit. I can see it becoming a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This really is the best holiday bread ever! It reminds me of being a kid with mummo cooking for us at Christmas. Nowdays I'm the Pulla maker and this recipie is the same my family uses - I prefer to used whole Cardomum freshy crushed and I LOVE the flavor so I use a Heaping Tablespoon! If you like a refreshing holiday variation try adding more and using fresh ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Absolutely wonderfull. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Love to make yeast breads and this recipe is definitely at the top of my list. It came out so well I gave two loaves as gifts. Next day made more! Everyone who has tasted agrees this bread is exceptional. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States