Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yum yum yum....this recipe converted me..now I'm a huge fan of cardamom. I followed the advice of others and increased the cardomom to 1 heaping tablespoon, makes it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nhu-y

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wonderful! I put sliced almonds on top before baking along with the granulated sugar and it was beautiful as well as delicious. Unless you have a large kitchenaid, try making half a recipe for a more manageable size. I got 4 loaves out of the whole recipe and 2 when I halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe.YUM!!! Here are a couple of tips to make it taste more like it does in Finland: 1. Use king Arthur white flour - huge difference in texture. (closest thing I have found outside of Finland that matches their flour) 3.use much more Cardamom than 1tsp 4.add a very tiny dash of vanilla 5.consider making small pullas, same baking time- these are more "foolproof" and are likely to bake more evenly (roll into a pall/patty roughly golf ball size) you can add different things to each- a sugar cube in the middle, dried fruits etc. 6.also, you can always add a little more butter to the dough- while not healthy it is delicous and makes it a little more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Great recipe! 1 Tbsp cardamom is essential to bring out the flavour and smell. It seems like a lot and the initial smell is overpowering but when cooked becomes a more subtle. Definitely, watch the oven. The tops were slightly burnt after 25 min but unharmed otherwise. I would bake for 20 min next time. Without the cardamom, the dough recipe lends the right texture to making cinnamon rolls or monkey bunch bread. A versatile recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I was looking for a sweet bread recipe and I came across this. It is the best. I will make this again and again.It has the perfect texture and sweetness. I'm happy I found this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I sprinkled it with swedish pearl sugar instead of granulated. It looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Excellent! Great for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Oh, how I love this recipe! :) I've been wanting to make this for a long time, and I had some time today, so I gave it a shot. I used my Kitchenaid to mix the dough most of the way, and then took it out and kneaded it for a few minutes (after letting it rest 15 min.) I messed up and forgot to add the butter until I had added all the flour, but I went ahead and added the butter, with a tiny bit of flour and I was able to mix it well. I cut the recipe down to make 2 loaves, and used 1 cup of whole wheat flour. I doubled the cardamom, and I still think it could have used more. This dough had a great texture and was a pleasure to work with. It also rose very nicely. I sprinkled it with coarse organic sugar and it looked so professional. It's tasty too- I'm looking forward to having some with hot chocolate. I'm glad I tried this recipe, and I'm so glad it came out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This bread came out delicious! I had never made bread before, and the dough was alittle hard to work with, and I also reduced the cooking time by about 3 or 4 minutes. Bread came out delicious! Not too sweet, and just enough flavor. My husband used it today to make a sandwich too, and he said it was delicious! I will just take his word fro it :) Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this bread as Christmas gifts. One friend called and told me her 13 year old son said, "This bread makes me smile." Another friend told me if I kept making this for my friends they might not like me. She could not quit eating it. I also up the cardmom to 1tablespoon. Might use even a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States