Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this yesterday and it looks just like the picture. It was beautiful and delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the Cardamom. I added a scant tablespoon and it was delicious. The raw dough tastes stronger than the baked do don't worry if you taste it and it seems strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This bread is amazing! I agree with the many others who say to increase the cardamom. I used 1 1/2 crushed seeds, fresh from the pod. Also, a note to bread novices, the dough maybe very sticky and wet during that first turn out of the bowl, but it will firm up as you knead more flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
great recipe!!!! since i was a child, everybody used to made these in our village for chirstmas... i love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was my first time baking bread. It turned out great, and I got a lot of compliments! As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the amount of cardamom, and it tasted just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this one. And as a Finn would say, Hyvää ruokahalua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend's parents who were visiting for the weekend. They are from a Finnish family and their grandmother makes Pulla often-they said mine was just as good! Great recipe. I halved it and it made a good size loaf to share. Nice and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
this bread was perfect! sweet, creamy, with a little bit of crust on the top. the aromatic qualities are unforgettable. thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This bread was delicious. But I did bake the first loaf at 400 degrees for 25 minutes and it was way too dark. The next loaves I baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and they were perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have always made Pulla rolls at Christmas. My parents are Finnish, and my mother taught me this recipe at a young age. I can't imagine Christmas without it. Like I read before, roll out, butter, sugar and cinnamon, roll, cut and bake. With parchment paper, you don't have to worry about the sugar burning on your bake ware, and there is less chance of the bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States