Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RobTanner
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very nice soft texture sweet bread. It does burn easily so I did 400 for 5 minutes to get a nice oven spring, then reduced to 350 for 20 minutes. Like others doubled up on the spice and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 cup raisins. Winter here, so kitchen is a little cool... let dough rise in a slightly warm oven and it does take a little longer than in the reciepie. Really nice and likely something we will include in our Christmas recipes to drop off as hostess gifts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've made this bread several times and it always gets rave reviews, even from my Finnish mom, and takes me back to when my Mummo (grandmother) used to make it when I was a child. The only things I did differently was double the cardamom, and I melted the butter and added it at the same time as the milk, instead of adding it separately later. I probably only use about 8 cups of flour. I also bake it at a much lower temperature because otherwise it will definitely burn (I need a baking stone...) I am surprised by people who found it dry, because it's not. It freezes very well, too. Delicious, and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I visit a lovely lady from Finland as she has no family here in New Zealand. She lives in a resthome for elderly and I am looking forward to taking some of this special bread for her on Christmas Eve. She is 87 years old and has a brilliant memory and has shared her memories of Xmas in Finland as a child with me. First i will take heer to visit her husbands grave and then we will go home for coffee and Pulla..Merry Xmas to you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The Finnish side of my man's family has some useful variations. Warm the oven at 200, then turn off the oven just before putting the batter/dough in to rest/rise. In addition to the 2 later dough-raising times, also put the first-stage batter (after the first 2 cups of flour) in the warmed oven for 20 minutes. I added my own tweaks as well. I roll out each third of dough and sprinkle with brown sugar and my own pumpkin pie spice consisting of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and the lovely and talented cardamom. In addition, I put cooked cranberry in one, and carob chips in another. I make the egg wash with honey instead of sugar. One batch gives me one big loaf, eight mini loaves, and 3 or 4 tart pans of pinwheels. One bugaboo I had was that even though I used parchment and baked only 18 minutes at 350 before egg wash, then 5 more minutes, I still got a little burn on bottoms and sides, depending on where in the oven it was. Also, I cannot stress enough that you must be ready to devote a lot of time. If I start at 3pm, I do not finish until 9:30, but it is sooooo very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I did try this recipe (have made other recipes for pulla before) and it turned out wonderfully. I made 3/4 of the recipe and made 6 little braids that look so cute. In fact, one pan is still in the oven. Both my husband and I are 100% Finnish, so we grew up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use more than one tablespoon of cardamom. I purchase the black cardamom seeds from the spice store and grind them in the blender or coffee grinder just before I need it for this recipe. The pre-ground that you purchase in the grocery store has no flavour compared to fresh ground. Try it! It takes the pulla to a whole new level of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good! I did decrease the butter to 1/3 c and the sugar to 3/4 c. This was more than enough. It does make a lot of bread, so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
doubled the cardamom. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Great recipe! To make it a little bit healthier I use 3 whole wheat flour and the remaining 6 unbleached flour. It always turns out great. Be sure to use the correct temperature of water for the yeast otherwise it will not rise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this as gifts for my kids teachers. We enjoyed this so much we couldn't stop eating it. I made six half loaves instead of three big loaves. I just kept a close eye while they were baking. I baked the half loaves at 350 for about 20 min. This will definitely be put in my book for next year. Wonderful holiday bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States