Finnish Pannu Kakku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
It was difficult to rate this because I wasn't sure what to expect. A Pannu Kakku recipe that I saw on another site said it was an "oven pancake," so I was expecting something similar to a pancake. (Which this was not). It was more like a slight sweet, puffy egg custard. My husband liked this, and I didn't care for it very much (though that may be more my personal taste than the recipe). I had to bake it a little longer than stated. I am glad I tried it, if only for the experience of baking (and tasting) some Finnish food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I grew up with this recipe and am so glad to have found it. It tastes great with syrup too. I lost this recipe years ago and now I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I grew up eating this too and our family recipe is very similar. I like mine cold and I add strawberries and whip cream (not authentic, but delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is fabulous. It was very easy. I even used half whole wheat/half all purpose flour one day. It is good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I make my mother's version of this, but I warm the pan in the oven before pouring the batter in. We all love Pannu Kakku
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
people always call this a finnish pancake, it's closer to french toast. a family fav. just heat the pan first. it's fantastic with syrup.from: a finnish girl. SISU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
very tasteful. I've baked these several times (also for friends) and everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Scrumdiddly. I used raw sugar and added vanilla sugar. I also served this with maple syrup. The girlfriend likes it with nutella though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a very interesting dish to cook! It is definitely not your everyday taste, and some will be turned away by that, but it is definitely worth trying (what an easy recipe!). I ate it cold with no condiments and it tasted fine! It certainly didn't look like the one in the picture, though. Maybe the one in the picture has a brown syrup on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
First off, guess it depends where in Finland your family(s) come from--we spell it Pannu Kakkua. Like others, we put butter into pan and it melts while oven is warming. Prefer to top with lingonberry sauce. Maple syrup works well too, as does cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States