Finnish Pannu Kakku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I'm not sure this came out 100% correct for me but it is delicious. I had to bake it about twice as long as the recipe says because the inside is so liquidy. Tastes very similar to egg custard tarts I get in chinatown. Can serve warm or cold, I like both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have always made Dutch Babies for my family but we love Swedish Pancakes and Crepes also. I came across this recipe and decided to try it and it got rave reviews from my kids! It is a bit of a combination of all of our favorites in one recipe. It's also sweet enough that you don't really need to put anything other than a sprinkle of powdered sugar on it. Mine didn't look like the picture even though I followed the recipe exactly and I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it said to because it didn't seem done in the middle. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This turned out great for me! I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and added 1/4 t. of vanilla, but that is the only change I made. I used a 7-inch cast iron skillet and my toaster oven set on 400 degrees to bake. It took exactly 15 minutes to bake. Topped with tart cherry preserves, it was a tasty breakfast with a navel orange and coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i absolutely love pannu kakku, i'm 1/4 cornish and 2/5 finnish so i've been growing up with this. plus, my two best girlfriends are 100% finnish so we eat this all the time when we get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
First off, guess it depends where in Finland your family(s) come from--we spell it Pannu Kakkua. Like others, we put butter into pan and it melts while oven is warming. Prefer to top with lingonberry sauce. Maple syrup works well too, as does cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a very interesting dish to cook! It is definitely not your everyday taste, and some will be turned away by that, but it is definitely worth trying (what an easy recipe!). I ate it cold with no condiments and it tasted fine! It certainly didn't look like the one in the picture, though. Maybe the one in the picture has a brown syrup on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Scrumdiddly. I used raw sugar and added vanilla sugar. I also served this with maple syrup. The girlfriend likes it with nutella though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
very tasteful. I've baked these several times (also for friends) and everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
people always call this a finnish pancake, it's closer to french toast. a family fav. just heat the pan first. it's fantastic with syrup.from: a finnish girl. SISU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I make my mother's version of this, but I warm the pan in the oven before pouring the batter in. We all love Pannu Kakku
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States