Finnish Pannu Kakku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I grew up with this recipe and am so glad to have found it. It tastes great with syrup too. I lost this recipe years ago and now I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I grew up eating this too and our family recipe is very similar. I like mine cold and I add strawberries and whip cream (not authentic, but delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
people always call this a finnish pancake, it's closer to french toast. a family fav. just heat the pan first. it's fantastic with syrup.from: a finnish girl. SISU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
very tasteful. I've baked these several times (also for friends) and everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a very interesting dish to cook! It is definitely not your everyday taste, and some will be turned away by that, but it is definitely worth trying (what an easy recipe!). I ate it cold with no condiments and it tasted fine! It certainly didn't look like the one in the picture, though. Maybe the one in the picture has a brown syrup on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
First off, guess it depends where in Finland your family(s) come from--we spell it Pannu Kakkua. Like others, we put butter into pan and it melts while oven is warming. Prefer to top with lingonberry sauce. Maple syrup works well too, as does cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have always made Dutch Babies for my family but we love Swedish Pancakes and Crepes also. I came across this recipe and decided to try it and it got rave reviews from my kids! It is a bit of a combination of all of our favorites in one recipe. It's also sweet enough that you don't really need to put anything other than a sprinkle of powdered sugar on it. Mine didn't look like the picture even though I followed the recipe exactly and I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it said to because it didn't seem done in the middle. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Never tried this before. It is delicious and was easy to make. Mine tastes and feels like bread pudding should, to me. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Delish! You can also add blueberries to the batter. Hope you try this with berries, maple syrup, and whip cream! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera Kunath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I loved this; I had never had it before and I am so glad I tried it. I like it both warm and cold. When it's warm, I use maple syrup, when cold, homemade strawberry freezer jam. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States