Finnish Pannu Kakku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Never tried this before. It is delicious and was easy to make. Mine tastes and feels like bread pudding should, to me. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this with my son this morning, and was able to convert it to gluten free. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Way way to salty for my taste! Unless using unsalted butter I would omit the salt all together next time. There is plenty in the butter to salt this. I would also reduce the butter to 6 TBS. Other then than great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Bucek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I'm not sure this came out 100% correct for me but it is delicious. I had to bake it about twice as long as the recipe says because the inside is so liquidy. Tastes very similar to egg custard tarts I get in chinatown. Can serve warm or cold, I like both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have always made Dutch Babies for my family but we love Swedish Pancakes and Crepes also. I came across this recipe and decided to try it and it got rave reviews from my kids! It is a bit of a combination of all of our favorites in one recipe. It's also sweet enough that you don't really need to put anything other than a sprinkle of powdered sugar on it. Mine didn't look like the picture even though I followed the recipe exactly and I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it said to because it didn't seem done in the middle. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This turned out great for me! I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and added 1/4 t. of vanilla, but that is the only change I made. I used a 7-inch cast iron skillet and my toaster oven set on 400 degrees to bake. It took exactly 15 minutes to bake. Topped with tart cherry preserves, it was a tasty breakfast with a navel orange and coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i absolutely love pannu kakku, i'm 1/4 cornish and 2/5 finnish so i've been growing up with this. plus, my two best girlfriends are 100% finnish so we eat this all the time when we get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
First off, guess it depends where in Finland your family(s) come from--we spell it Pannu Kakkua. Like others, we put butter into pan and it melts while oven is warming. Prefer to top with lingonberry sauce. Maple syrup works well too, as does cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a very interesting dish to cook! It is definitely not your everyday taste, and some will be turned away by that, but it is definitely worth trying (what an easy recipe!). I ate it cold with no condiments and it tasted fine! It certainly didn't look like the one in the picture, though. Maybe the one in the picture has a brown syrup on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Scrumdiddly. I used raw sugar and added vanilla sugar. I also served this with maple syrup. The girlfriend likes it with nutella though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States