Finnish Pannu Kakku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I loved this; I had never had it before and I am so glad I tried it. I like it both warm and cold. When it's warm, I use maple syrup, when cold, homemade strawberry freezer jam. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It may be technique, as it was the first time I prepared this, but it turned out a little differently than the pannu kakku that I've eaten in Michigan's U.P. It was a little less custardy than I'm accustomed to, and did not puff up and then "fall". It was, however, very easy to do and absolutely delicious as it turned out. After looking at some versions on Scandinavian cooking I added vanilla and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Delish! You can also add blueberries to the batter. Hope you try this with berries, maple syrup, and whip cream! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera Kunath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Never tried this before. It is delicious and was easy to make. Mine tastes and feels like bread pudding should, to me. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this with my son this morning, and was able to convert it to gluten free. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Way way to salty for my taste! Unless using unsalted butter I would omit the salt all together next time. There is plenty in the butter to salt this. I would also reduce the butter to 6 TBS. Other then than great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I'm not sure this came out 100% correct for me but it is delicious. I had to bake it about twice as long as the recipe says because the inside is so liquidy. Tastes very similar to egg custard tarts I get in chinatown. Can serve warm or cold, I like both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have always made Dutch Babies for my family but we love Swedish Pancakes and Crepes also. I came across this recipe and decided to try it and it got rave reviews from my kids! It is a bit of a combination of all of our favorites in one recipe. It's also sweet enough that you don't really need to put anything other than a sprinkle of powdered sugar on it. Mine didn't look like the picture even though I followed the recipe exactly and I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it said to because it didn't seem done in the middle. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This turned out great for me! I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and added 1/4 t. of vanilla, but that is the only change I made. I used a 7-inch cast iron skillet and my toaster oven set on 400 degrees to bake. It took exactly 15 minutes to bake. Topped with tart cherry preserves, it was a tasty breakfast with a navel orange and coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i absolutely love pannu kakku, i'm 1/4 cornish and 2/5 finnish so i've been growing up with this. plus, my two best girlfriends are 100% finnish so we eat this all the time when we get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States