Finnish Nissua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great recipe! I agree with those who recommended doubling the amount of cardamom...after all, that's what gives this bread its distinctive flavor! We prefer a bit less sweetness and omit the thick glaze. Instead, I mix 6 tablespoons of strong coffee with 6 tablespoons of sugar and brush this mixture on the loaves when they come out of the oven. When making these for Christmas, I'll sometimes brush with the coffee mixture, then sprinkle the loaves with red and green decorators sugar to make them festive. This bread is also great toasted and topped with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanna_maki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a great bread with a wonderful taste and a very good texture. I had a hard time choosing between 4 and 5 stars, but I settled on 4 because of a few minor issues that I have with the recipe. As a few people commented, I think it's better with double the cardamom, and I also had to increase the flour quite a bit (although I used all-purpose flour, so maybe that's why). But my biggest complaint is that the frosting looks kind of silly to me. Maybe I did something wrong, but it seemed to cover up the attractiveness of the bread, and lumpy things don't frost very well. Since I just made the bread for my family, it didn't really matter, but I think I'll have to experiment with the frosting to get it looking better. I'll probably try thinning it out into more of a glaze. UPDATE: I made this again and added more milk to the frosting to thin it out. The bread was much more attractive and was a huge hit with everyone who ate it! This is going into my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Easier recipe to follow for the Cardomen bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
It was so great to find this recipe. I grew up on this bread from my Finnish mother and Grandmother. Since they have both passed away, I have been looking for a recipe for this bread, but the closest I've found until now is Challah bread. My Grandmother made it both with and without the cardamon and I like it much better without. It is great unfrosted or topped with just an egg wash and sugar and then toasted with butter for breakfast and it also makes a great french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This turned out to be an excellent recipe. It's as good or better than either my mother or grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This bread had a really great, soft texture that really DOES taste like a danish minus the dollop of jelly on top. My only complaint was that it didn't have enough cardamom flavor to it. Even though I doubled the amount of it, I still couldn't taste it in the bread until the 3rd day. I also added over a cup of extra flour and it came out really nice. I might suggest baking it longer though, as 30 minutes didn't quite get them cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This turned out excellent! Next time I will only frost the first and wrap the others well & frost later. It does dry out very fast. (Canuck is my married name, I'm Suomi:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I added 2 T. gluten and 2 T. dry milk powder (for sweetness). I also added twice as much cardamom as the recipe asks for because I really wanted to be able to taste it. This recipe isn't difficult to make and looks lovely when it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was pretty good. I have never had this before so I didn't know what to expect. The taste (and only the taste) reminds me of those flat round danishes with the dollop of fruit on top with the little bit of icing. I cannot make bread to save my life so I used my bread machine to make the dough. I added the ingredients in this order: milk, water (instead of activating yeast I added the water to the milk), eggs, margarine, sugar, salt, ground cardamom, flour, and yeast. I added all the liquids cold because my machine goes through a warm up stage. I skipped steps 1 - 3 and after my machine stopped (2 hours later) I started the recipe from step 4. The dough came out perfect. After baking, I found that my loaves stuck to the pan even though I lightly greased my pan. Also, 30 minutes seemed just a bit much for my loaves. Taste and texture together is a 4, but the braid makes a beautiful presentation (except the underside that stuck to the pan) I give a 5 out of 5. This is not something I would crave often, but this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This was FABULOUS. My husband has been begging me to make the bread his Grandmother had made in his childhood. This is the best Nissua recipe yet - a keeper for sure. The only thing he said was that there should be more cardamom. I made 1 loaf regular, and made 2 into cinnamon-raisin loaves to share with the neighbors. It recieved rave reviews there also. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States