Finnish Nissua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I used well over a tablespoon of cardamom. Fresh ground cardamom gives much better flavor as well. I did add more flour also as the dough was much too sticky to knead. This recipe is very much like the one given to me by my Finnish grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I just made these for the first time today and they are very tasty. In spite of the recommendations about doubling the amount of cardemom I didn't do this. I'm not a huge cardemom fan and was afraid it would be too strong for my taste. Now I wish I had. In spite of adding a teaspoon of cinnamon and one of cardemom the bread really could use more spice. But overall it's very good and easy recipe. Although not fast it's great for a day when you'll be at home anyhow. I omitted the 1/2 cup water to proof the yeast and used some of the milk mixture and still needed to add more flour than called for, but that was no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made this for gifts and have brought to Christmas partys. In using it for the partys...I split the frosting up and die them green and red and drizzle over the top. Looks very festive. I find it tastes best the same day, so it has to be made and eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I braided the loaves into wreaths and they look spectacular. As many mentioned, I did add about another cup of flour (but, I live in Portland, OR, and it was very humid the day I baked it). The frosting was a nice addition, but not at all necessary - the bread alone is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This took all morning, but it looks and tastes great. I did almost double the cardamom and think it could actually use a little more; I haven't added the icing because it doesn't really seem to fit the taste of the bread, but I'm going to try it with at least one of the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Have searched for 3 years for the perfect Nissu recipe and THIS IS IT! My bread came out identical to the picture above. I baked my bread on parchment paper on a cookie sheet for 21 minutes at 350 degrees and it was golden brown. I used my Mom's Glaze Recipe: 1 TBSP plus 1 Tsp of hot milk, 1/2 cup sifted confectioners sugar and 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract. I used a fine pastry brush for applying the glaze while it was still warm. This bread is a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I'd give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have not baked it yet(at the second rise stage now) but having made the Pulla recently, expect it to be just as great. I followed the recipe exactly but still had to add more than an extra cup of flour, almost two to get it to a suitable workable dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe has become a holiday tradition for me! The entire family loves it. The long prep time is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Shaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I doubled the cardamom, as suggested, and the bread is fragrant and nice, but the glaze is horrible. It was thick, unattractive, and superfluously sweet. After it hardens, it flakes off the bread slices when you bite into them. Also, be warned: this recipe takes forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The correct name is 'Nisu' or 'Pulla'. You may want to try them like this: after making and raising the dough, roll buns a bit larger than golf balls and let them rise for ca 15 mins. Then make a hole in the middle of the buns with your finger. Fill the holes with butter and cover the butter with some white sugar. Put some egg wash on the buns and bake them in the oven (375 degrees) for maybe 10 minutes. The beatiful brown color will tell you when they're done. Enjoy with a glass of cold milk, that's the proper Finnish way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vihti, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States