Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Dont you hate it when people rate a recipe with a low rating and they obviously didnt make the dish? If you think 1 cup of whipping cream is too much that is fine you dont have to make the dish. BUT That is not a reason to give it a low rating. I found this dish to be just about perfect. The seasoning was great and the taste was delicious! Thank you for much! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My family like my leaner version of this. I used ground turkey and used evaporated milk where the recipe called for whipping cream. Also, added a little bit of canola oi/butter to wet my flour after I browned the meatballs(not as much fat in turkey as in beef).Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wonderful exactly as written. I was a little worried about the lack of seasoning in the sauce, but the drippings from the meatballs flavor it perfectly. I served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
HYVAA, just like when I was growing up. Very good recipe. Nothing needs to be added or changed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Very good as is I would not change a thing! The meatballs came out tender and moist with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A delicious comfort food. Reminds me of Swedish meatballs, which I adore. As the previous reviewer said, this recipe tastes great exactly as written. Will make it again....and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
As written, an instant family favorite--I second the other review that says nothing needs to be changed. The whole family (husband, children 3 and 1, and myself) wanted seconds. Tasty, economical comfort food. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
To eliminate the cream and milk - brown the meatballs in olive oil - 1 tbsp. Remove them, then melt 1tbsp butter in pan, sprinkle on 2 tbsp flour & stir well. Cook for a couple of minutes, then slowly whisk in approx. 400ml of hot beef stock(from a cube works well). This gives you a nice thick gravy. Return meatballs to pan and cook through. I use turkey mince also and they are good with cranberry jelly, greens and mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Kiitos! Kiitoksia! Paljon kiitoksia! I could never remember everything that Aiti and my Mummu used - it was the ALLSPICE! EXCELLENT! This is down home cooking up north way! if I could give this a thousand stars - I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yummy! I was distracted and forgot the bread crumbs but the meatballs turned out great anyway - delicate and melted in my mouth! I did add a little salt, pepper and 1/4 tsp of allspice to the gravy as I like a little more spice. Next time, I'll make some lefse too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Homemade Swedish meatballs served with a tangy, creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States