Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
HYVAA, just like when I was growing up. Very good recipe. Nothing needs to be added or changed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A delicious comfort food. Reminds me of Swedish meatballs, which I adore. As the previous reviewer said, this recipe tastes great exactly as written. Will make it again....and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yummy! I was distracted and forgot the bread crumbs but the meatballs turned out great anyway - delicate and melted in my mouth! I did add a little salt, pepper and 1/4 tsp of allspice to the gravy as I like a little more spice. Next time, I'll make some lefse too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
As written, an instant family favorite--I second the other review that says nothing needs to be changed. The whole family (husband, children 3 and 1, and myself) wanted seconds. Tasty, economical comfort food. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Very good as is I would not change a thing! The meatballs came out tender and moist with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My family like my leaner version of this. I used ground turkey and used evaporated milk where the recipe called for whipping cream. Also, added a little bit of canola oi/butter to wet my flour after I browned the meatballs(not as much fat in turkey as in beef).Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wonderful exactly as written. I was a little worried about the lack of seasoning in the sauce, but the drippings from the meatballs flavor it perfectly. I served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Kiitos! Kiitoksia! Paljon kiitoksia! I could never remember everything that Aiti and my Mummu used - it was the ALLSPICE! EXCELLENT! This is down home cooking up north way! if I could give this a thousand stars - I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I make this, but I use white pepper. That is the way my mother, a farm girl from Ahtari, taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
IT SOUNDS LOVELY, BUT 1/4 WHIPPING CREAM PER PERSON SOUNDS A BIT OVERBOARD. ANYTHING TASTES GREAT WITH THAT MUCH CREAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States