Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
HYVAA, just like when I was growing up. Very good recipe. Nothing needs to be added or changed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A delicious comfort food. Reminds me of Swedish meatballs, which I adore. As the previous reviewer said, this recipe tastes great exactly as written. Will make it again....and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yummy! I was distracted and forgot the bread crumbs but the meatballs turned out great anyway - delicate and melted in my mouth! I did add a little salt, pepper and 1/4 tsp of allspice to the gravy as I like a little more spice. Next time, I'll make some lefse too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
As written, an instant family favorite--I second the other review that says nothing needs to be changed. The whole family (husband, children 3 and 1, and myself) wanted seconds. Tasty, economical comfort food. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Very good as is I would not change a thing! The meatballs came out tender and moist with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My family like my leaner version of this. I used ground turkey and used evaporated milk where the recipe called for whipping cream. Also, added a little bit of canola oi/butter to wet my flour after I browned the meatballs(not as much fat in turkey as in beef).Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wonderful exactly as written. I was a little worried about the lack of seasoning in the sauce, but the drippings from the meatballs flavor it perfectly. I served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Kiitos! Kiitoksia! Paljon kiitoksia! I could never remember everything that Aiti and my Mummu used - it was the ALLSPICE! EXCELLENT! This is down home cooking up north way! if I could give this a thousand stars - I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I make this, but I use white pepper. That is the way my mother, a farm girl from Ahtari, taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
IT SOUNDS LOVELY, BUT 1/4 WHIPPING CREAM PER PERSON SOUNDS A BIT OVERBOARD. ANYTHING TASTES GREAT WITH THAT MUCH CREAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States