Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
great recipe.. made as written and over noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslee123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could :-) I made this last night & it was very good. The meatballs were succulent & delicious. The only mistake I made was to substitute plain yoghurt for the cream - don't do that, it curdled in a bad way! I think I might try low-fat sour cream next time to maintain the texture, but lessen the fat a bit. Also, I didn't have allspice, so I used a beef boillion packet. I'll try the allspice next time. This is going to be a regular family meal in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debussy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Sorry. I did not care for this. I followed the recipe except for substituting evaporated milk for the cream. The breadcrumb meat ratio is too high. It was basically a tasteless meal. I thought the allspice would carry it, but it needed a lot more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
No one in my family cared for this recipe. Sauce didn't have much flavor until I made changes and all we could taste in the meatballs was allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Tasty, but it took a lot longer than I had anticipated to make and cook the meatballs and gravy. The mixture was very soft and sticky as well, so it was tricky making them hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
my mother use to make this when I was growing up in the 60's. we all thought this was a made up recipe. we called it lazy dazy meatballs. the truth has now come out!!! these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used ground chicken and just added a little more butter and flour at the cream stage to offset the lack of beef fat in the pan. This one is in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
5 stars I loved it! Its simple and the only change I made was to use ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
To eliminate the cream and milk - brown the meatballs in olive oil - 1 tbsp. Remove them, then melt 1tbsp butter in pan, sprinkle on 2 tbsp flour & stir well. Cook for a couple of minutes, then slowly whisk in approx. 400ml of hot beef stock(from a cube works well). This gives you a nice thick gravy. Return meatballs to pan and cook through. I use turkey mince also and they are good with cranberry jelly, greens and mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Dont you hate it when people rate a recipe with a low rating and they obviously didnt make the dish? If you think 1 cup of whipping cream is too much that is fine you dont have to make the dish. BUT That is not a reason to give it a low rating. I found this dish to be just about perfect. The seasoning was great and the taste was delicious! Thank you for much! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States