Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My Irish dad made the best Swedish Meatballs ever....better than my Swedish mother-in-law's. These bought me home! I'm glad I waited a day to rate, because they're better the next day! I don't like to "tweak" recipes before trying them out "as is", but I did use the beef/pork/veal blend. Will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I thought this was very good the only thing I changed was i put a little salt, pepper and seasoned salt in the sauce. VERY YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I wasn't very happy with the results of this. The meatballs were very tender but the sauce was very bland. I had to put extra salt and pepper in and then I had to mix up one cup of water with 1 tsp of beef bullion and mixed that into the sauce and that helped, but it still was missing something. I will keep looking for a better sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
AMAZING!! I have never cooked something like this... and followed the recipe and they came out amazing! my whole family LOVED them. the meatballs were very tasty and flavored JUST RIGHT... the cream sauce came out fabulous... the meatballs added a lot of flavor to the 'gravy'. l am definitely cooking this one again when the weather cools off... a perfect chilly evening dinner! great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fvb21687

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I tried one of the meatballs before making the gravy. The matballs have a lot of flavor, though there is a LOT of salt in there. Probably more than there needs to be. As one poster noted, it is a very soft meatball so you do have to let them cook pretty well on one side before even trying to turn the meatball during browning so it sets up....but that is typical for a Swedish type meatball...it is supposed to be softer than an Italian meatball. My problems came once the cream sauce was added. (I used 1/2 and 1/2 and not cream to cut down the fat content). The sauce was too bland for me. I added a little white pepper as one poster suggested. That was still a bit too bland so I added some fresh ground black pepper too. I prefer the Swedish meatballs which are very similar for "the ball" but the sauce made with beef and sour cream has more flavor. Overall for the high fat and salt content....didn't like them enough/bland sauce to be worth the heart attack on a plate with sodium and fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I hate it when it appears I am the only one that doesn't like something, but I know taste and likes differ for each individual. I make Swedish meatballs all the time. I/family like the Swedish MeatBall recipe much better. I did not like the sauce with this recipe. It did not have much of a taste. I felt I was eating meatballs with cream gravy. Anyway, I tried it and you never know until you try something. I won't be making it again, but don't want to be so negative to stop someone else from trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Excellent... I made this as written except with lowfat milk and cornstarch instead of flour because we have a family member with wheat intolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Tuli suorastaan koti-ikava naita syodessani! This was fantastic, and very authentic (I grew up eating these meatballs). Even with a few "leaner modifications" the meatballs melted in my mouth. I used Jenny-O turkey, panko bread crumbs and lowfat evaporated milk. Served with mashed potatoes and beets...kids asked if we could have this everyday. Kiitos, kiitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hooked on recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
great recipe.. made as written and over noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslee123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could :-) I made this last night & it was very good. The meatballs were succulent & delicious. The only mistake I made was to substitute plain yoghurt for the cream - don't do that, it curdled in a bad way! I think I might try low-fat sour cream next time to maintain the texture, but lessen the fat a bit. Also, I didn't have allspice, so I used a beef boillion packet. I'll try the allspice next time. This is going to be a regular family meal in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debussy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States