Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Very easy to make! This is a five-star without any changes. My kids complained about the onions even though it was minced. Next time I will just put onion powder. I would prefer to make smaller meatballs next time, like the size you find at IKEA. We put the meatballs and gravy over the mashed potatoes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The meatballs had a decent flavor, but nothing spectacular. The mix of breadcrumbs and cream was too much for the amount of meat. The meatballs came out mushy and bready, not really the texture of meat at all. The sauce was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These meatballs are awesome and not just because I am half Finnish. They have become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The meatballs were very delicious, but the sauce lacked flavor and was floury tasting. I think the next time I make this recipe I'll add salt and pepper and possibly a can of cream of celery or cream of mushroom soup instead of the second 1/2 cup of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe was very good. I too was worried about the minimal seasoning/ingredients for the sauce, but it turned out delicious. My coworkers always expect me to bring my leftovers to work, and they enjoyed this. Served over egg noodles. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! Its fast, easy, and delicious. I think I'm going to serve them over egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These turned out wonderful! I was a little apprehensive before I made these as all other meatballs I have made have crumbled apart. However, these were perfect. Wonderful flavoring, stayed intact, and smothered with a creamy sauce. I put these over chapatis with a side dish of cranberry sauce - perfect Sunday brunch. Oh, I also took another reviewer's suggestion and used evaporated milk in place of whipping cream; turned out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le3igh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I'm part finnish...this was awesome. And the pickle is a good touch! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Maltby, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. Didn't change a thing. delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were very good...didn't change the recipe at all....My family enjoyed them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States