Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was great!! My whole family loved it. We live in a Finnish/American community and it is an authentic recipe. It did, however, burn due to the high temp so I am making it at 400 as I had lowered the temp to 425 and the edges burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was great! So easy to make, and tastes good warm or cold. Still just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This turned out as good as the other reviewers said it was. It did burn some on the edges even with the temp turned to *425. My family loved it with or w/out powered sugar and syrup.It's nothing like a pancake. It is thick with hills and valleys and a creamy texture. Very, Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I love it! its really yummy and not at all like a pancake. Is it really supposed to puff up so much?But it went back to normal anyway. I served it with a drizzle of honey mixed with hazelnut syrup and some cinnamon. It was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe quite a few times now & have the following advice. You may substitute sifted white whole wheat flour for the all purpose with no ill effects, & cut back the sugar by at least a third if you prefer. (That's how I do it every time.) I like the buttery goodness, but cutting back to 3 Tbsp of butter doesn't affect the quality and flavor. Don't use the beaters to mix it; that tends to make the edges tougher. Instead, beat the milk and eggs together before adding to the dry ingredients, then hand whisk it just until mostly smooth (there will be some tiny lumps, but they'll soften waiting for the butter to melt & bake out.) Before adding liquid ingredients to the dry, whisk a few drops of vanilla & almond extract into the liquid. Use a 9 x 13 nonstick cake pan & spray lightly with butter flavored spray. I do not mix the hot butter into my batter, just swirl butter to coat pan, lightly stir batter & pour on top of butter. Do bake @ 400 F on the upper oven rack; I bake it for 15-20 minutes, then give it a half turn and bake for 5-10 minutes more. It is done, IMHO, when the edges are golden brown, & the middle is puffed & "set." It truly is halfway between a giant popover & a lovely, custard-y bread pudding. I sprinkle it with powdered sugar as everyone comes running to the table, and serve it with lemon wedges and whipped cream. Individuals then add the amount of lemon they like and whipped cream if preferred. I like it best with just lemon and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Very easy and tasty! I turned down my oven to 425F the second time I made it, though. It got a little too dark at 450. But I even ate the burned bits, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I am sooo excited! My muma made this for me when I was a child. I've always wanted the recipe but never knew how to spell it! lol! She died when I was only 9 so I couldn't ask her. Thank you so much it will bring back such wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiSr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I am so glad I found this recipe. I made something like this in home economics in Jr or Sr High school. It had been AGES since I have even thought of them. I came across this recipe and could almost taste them as I read the directions. They are so yummy I remembered them from that long ago. Great recipe! Fun breakfast to experience rather than the usual cereal, pancakes, etc. My boys all turned their nose to it. I made them taste it and they love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Excellent recipie! I'm not a huge fan of pancakes, but I love these! I was a little wooried as they were cooking - the batter puffed up like a mountain range! - but it flattened out after cooling. Made these for breakfast on xmas eve and everyone enjoyed them... surprisingly filling. (I added a little vanilla to the recipie, and it worked out really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was great! I served it to a group of Brownie scouts and (almost!) every child and leader ate it and asked for seconds. The edges did get burned, though, so perhaps a lower temperature would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kid-Friendly Pancakes with Berry Topping

Kids love helping to make these pancakes with warm berry topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States